Child Support & Alimony

How do you get alimony, how is alimony calculated, and who is the contact person in your case?

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Find out here what child support is, how much support your child gets, what the standard requirement is, how to apply for support payments and what documents you need for the application. In addition, you will learn how to enforce a child support claim, what you can do if you cannot afford the child support payments, and how to find the appropriate legal representation.

What is child support?

If both parents do not care for the child, the parent who lives separately and does not care for the child is obliged to pay child support (§ 231 ABGB). The right of contact and the determination of custody are independent of this.

How much child support will my child receive?

Child support is generally based on:

  • according to the age of the child
  • the ability of the parent to pay child support.

Child support is calculated by the City Department Child and youth welfare.. or by the competent guardianship court/district court.

For the calculation, you must submit to the City Department Child and youth welfare.. a declaration of consent to the legal representation of the child (§ 208 Abs.2 ABGB). For this purpose, please make an appointment with the City Department Child and youth welfare.

The child and youth welfare agency will then request further documents from the parent liable to pay:

  • all income documents for the last 12 months (e.g. pay slips, unemployment benefits, pensions, sick pay, lease or rental income or other proof of income and assets)
  • from self-employed persons: the last income tax assessment, the wage tax assessment for the last three years, the most recent balance sheet, proof of your private withdrawals within the last year and other proof of income and assets.
  • if you have other custodial responsibilities: Documents evidencing other legal custodial responsibilities (e.g., marriage certificate, birth certificates of additional children, etc.) and, if required, proof of income from your spouse.

Generally, the amount of alimony is calculated as a percentage of the monthly net income (including special payments such as Christmas and vacation bonuses). The following percentages apply:

Age of the childAmount of maintenance as a percentage of monthly net income
0 to 6 years16 %
6 to 10 years18 %
10 to 15 years20 %
15 years and older22 %

Percentages are deducted from each of these for other care obligations:

additional child up to 10 years1 %
further child over 10 years2 %
Spouse not working3 %
Spouse partially employed1-2 %
Spouse fully employed0 %

The exact amount of maintenance varies in individual cases - for example, maintenance can also be based on the standard need. Either the Child and Youth Welfare Service reaches an agreement with the person obliged to pay maintenance or the Child and Youth Welfare Service files an application with the Guardianship Court/District Court, which decides on the amount of maintenance by means of an order.

An approximate and non-binding estimate of the amount of alimony payments is provided by the alimony calculator of the Austrian Working Group for Youth Welfare.

What is the standard need?

In principle, the amount of maintenance is calculated as a percentage of the monthly net income, see "How much maintenance does my child get?However, if the income of the person liable for maintenance is very high, there is a luxury limit. In such a case, the child support may be based on the standard needs:

  • Luxury limit for children under ten years of age: two times the standard need
  • Luxury limit for children over ten years of age: 2.5 times the standard requirement

The standard need is an amount of money that a child of a certain age statistically needs in addition to the care of the parent running the household. The parents' living conditions are not taken into account here. The standard need is therefore only a guideline.

What is the standard requirement?

Standard requirements2021/20222022/2023
0-3 years219 Euro290 Euro
3-6 years282 Euro290 Euro
6-10 years362 Euro370 Euro
10-15 years414 Euro450 Euro
15-19 years488 Euro570 Euro
19-25 years611 Euro650 Euro

Valid from 01 July to 30 June.

How does my child get its child support?

  1. In order to create a legally valid child support order, you must first have the child support calculated. To do this, you must commission the City Department Child and youth welfare.. with the legal representation to determine the child support and provide the necessary documents. To do this, make an appointment with the City Department Child and youth welfare. This will provide you with a determined child support amount.
  2. If the parent liable to pay maintenance does not pay this contribution, you can instruct the child and youth welfare service to enforce the maintenance claims (§ 208 ABGB). To do so, make an appointment with City Department Child and youth welfare.
  3. Under certain conditions, the child and youth welfare office can apply for advances on maintenance payments to bridge the time until the enforcement of maintenance. These are then granted by the guardianship court/district court by means of an order. For this purpose, contact your competent legal representative directly.

What documents do I need to calculate child support?

What can I do if I do not know who the father is?

In such a case, paternity can be established by the courts. Either the father signs the acknowledgement of paternity at the child and youth welfare office or a court application is filed to establish paternity by obtaining a DNA-GA.

Depending on the case, you will need different documents for this. Therefore, a personal interview is always necessary for an acknowledgement of paternity. Therefore, please make an appointment with City Department Child and youth welfare.

The maintenance is not paid. What can I do?

If child support has been determined and the parent liable to pay support still does not pay the alimony, you can instruct the child and youth welfare service to enforce the support claims (§ 208 ABGB). To do so, make an appointment with the Child and youth welfare.

I can't afford to pay the child support. What can I do?

If you, as the person liable for maintenance, cannot afford to pay the maintenance (anymore), you must file an application with the competent district court for a reduction or withdrawal of maintenance.

Also in such a case, City Department Child and youth welfare.. will be happy to advise you, just make an appointment.

How do I find the responsible legal representative?

You can reach your legal representative via the Service Unit Child and youth welfare - legal representation

Contact

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday:
8.00-12.00 and 14.00-17.00

Friday:
8.00-12.00

Last updated 06.12.2022

Kindesunterhalt & Alimente

Wie kommen Sie zu Unterhaltszahlungen, wie werden Unterhaltszahlungen berechnet und wer ist AnsprechpartnerIn in Ihrem Fall?

Erfahren Sie hier, was Kindesunterhalt ist, wie viel Unterhalt Ihr Kind bekommt, was der Regelbedarf ist, wie Sie den Antrag auf Unterhaltszahlungen stellen und welche Unterlagen Sie für den Antrag brauchen. Zudem erfahren Sie wie Sie einen Unterhaltsanspruch durchsetzen können, was Sie tun können, wenn Sie sich die Unterhaltszahlungen nicht leisten können und wie Sie die zuständige Rechtsvertretung finden.

Was ist Kindesunterhalt?

Wenn nicht beide Eltern das Kind betreuen, ist der getrennt lebende und nicht pflegende Elternteil dazu verpflichtet, Kindesunterhalt zu bezahlen (§ 231 ABGB). Davon unabhängig sind das Kontaktrecht und die Festlegung der Obsorge.

Wie viel Unterhalt bekommt mein Kind?

Der Kindesunterhalt richtet sich grundsätzlich:

  • nach dem Alter des Kindes
  • nach der Leistungsfähigkeit des geldunterhaltspflichtigen Elternteils.

Berechnet wird der Kindesunterhalt vom Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe oder vom zuständigen Pflegschaftsgericht/Bezirksgericht.

Für die Berechnung müssen Sie dem Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe eine Zustimmungserklärung zur gesetzlichen Vertretung des Kindes erteilen (§ 208 Abs.2 ABGB). Vereinbaren Sie dazu bitte einen Termin mit dem Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe.

Die Kinder- und Jugendhilfeträger fordert dann weitere Unterlagen vom zahlungspflichtigen Elternteil an:

  • alle Einkommensbelege der letzten 12 Monate (z.B. Lohnzettel, Arbeitslosenunterstützung, Pensionen, Krankengeld, Pacht- oder Mieteinnahmen oder sonstige Einkommens- und Vermögensnachweise)
  • von Selbstständigen: den letzten Einkommensteuerbescheid, die Lohnsteuerbescheide der letzten drei Jahre, die aktuellste Bilanz, Nachweise über Ihre Privatentnahmen innerhalb des letzten Jahres und sonstige Einkommens- und Vermögensnachweise.
  • bei weiteren Sorgepflichten: Dokumente, die weitere gesetzliche Sorgepflichten belegen (z.B. Heiratsurkunde, Geburtsurkunden weiterer Kinder usw.) und, wenn erforderlich, die Einkommensnachweise Ihres/Ihrer EhepartnerIn.

Allgemein wird die Höhe des Unterhalts in Prozent des monatlichen Nettoeinkommens (inkl. Sonderzahlungen wie Weihnachts- und Urlaubsgeld) berechnet. Dabei gelten folgende Prozentsätze:

Alter des KindesHöhe des Unterhalts in % des monatlichen Nettoeinkommens
0 bis 6 Jahre16 %
6 bis 10 Jahre18 %
10 bis 15 Jahre20 %
ab 15 Jahre22 %

Davon werden jeweils Prozentsätze abgezogen für weitere Sorgepflichten:

weiteres Kind bis 10 Jahre1 %
weiteres Kind über 10 Jahre2 %
EhepartnerIn nicht berufstätig3 %
EhepartnerIn teilweise berufstätig1-2 %
EhepartnerIn voll berufstätig0 %

Die genaue Höhe des Unterhalts variiert im Einzelfall – beispielsweise kann sich der Unterhalt auch am Regelbedarf orientieren. Entweder erzielt die Kinder- und Jugendhilfe eine Einigung mit dem/der Unterhaltspflichtigen oder die Kinder- und Jugendhilfe stellt einen Antrag beim Pflegschaftsgericht/Bezirksgericht, das mittels Beschluss über die Höhe des Unterhalts entscheidet.

Eine ungefähre und unverbindliche Einschätzung über die Höhe von Unterhaltszahlungen ermöglicht der Unterhaltsrechner der Österreichischen Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Jugendwohlfahrt.

Was ist der Regelbedarf?

Grundsätzlich wird die Höhe des Unterhalts nach Prozent des monatlichen Nettoeinkommens berechnet, siehe „Wie viel Unterhalt bekommt mein Kind?“. Ist das Einkommen der/des Unterhaltspflichtigen allerdings sehr hoch, gibt es eine Luxusgrenze. In einem solchen Fall kann es sein, dass sich der Unterhalt am Regelbedarf orientiert:

  • Luxusgrenze bei Kindern unter zehn Jahren: zweifacher Regelbedarf
  • Luxusgrenze bei Kindern über zehn Jahren: 2,5facher Regelbedarf

 

Der Regelbedarf ist ein Geldbetrag, den ein Kind in einem bestimmten Alter zusätzlich zur Betreuung des haushaltsführenden Elternteils statistisch braucht. Die Lebensverhältnisse der Eltern sind hier nicht berücksichtig. Der Regelbedarf ist daher nur ein Richtwert.

Wie hoch ist der Regelbedarf?

Regelbedarf2021/20222022/2023
0-3 Jahre219 Euro290 Euro
3-6 Jahre282 Euro290 Euro
6-10 Jahre362 Euro370 Euro
10-15 Jahre414 Euro450 Euro
15-19 Jahre488 Euro570 Euro
19-25 Jahre611 Euro650 Euro

Gültig jeweils von 01. Juli bis 30. Juni.

Wie bekommt mein Kind seinen Kindesunterhalt?

  1. Um einen rechtsgültigen Unterhaltstitel zu schaffen, müssen Sie erst den Kindesunterhalt berechnen lassen. Dafür müssen Sie das Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe mit der Rechtsvertretung zur Festsetzung des Unterhalts beauftragen und die benötigten Unterlagen bereitstellen. Vereinbaren Sie dafür einen Termin mit dem Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe. Dadurch erhalten Sie einen festgesetzten Unterhaltsbeitrag.
  2. Zahlt der unterhaltspflichtige Elternteil diesen Beitrag nicht, können Sie die Kinder- und Jugendhilfe mit der Durchsetzung der Unterhaltsansprüche beauftragen (§ 208 ABGB). Vereinbaren Sie dazu einen Termin mit dem Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe.
  3. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann die Kinder- und Jugendhilfe Unterhaltsvorschüsse beantragen, um die Zeit bis zur Durchsetzung des Unterhalts zu überbrücken. Diese werden dann vom Pflegschaftsgericht/Bezirksgericht mittels Beschluss gewährt. Wenden Sie sich dazu direkt an Ihre/n zuständige/n RechtsvertreterIn.

Welche Unterlagen brauche ich für die Berechnung des Kindesunterhalts?

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich nicht weiß, wer der Vater ist?

In einem solchen Fall kann die Vaterschaft gerichtlich festgestellt werden. Entweder unterzeichnet der Vater die Vaterschaftsanerkennung bei der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe oder es wird ein gerichtlicher Antrag zur Feststellung der Vaterschaft durch Einholung eines DNA-GA gestellt.

Je nach Fall brauchen Sie dafür unterschiedliche Dokumente. Daher ist für eine Vaterschaftsanerkennung immer ein persönliches Gespräch notwendig. Bitte vereinbaren Sie deshalb einen Termin mit dem Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe.

Der Unterhalt wird nicht bezahlt. Was kann ich tun?

Wenn der Kindesunterhalt festgesetzt wurde und der unterhaltspflichtige Elternteil trotzdem die Alimente nicht bezahlt, dann können Sie die Kinder- und Jugendhilfe mit der Durchsetzung der Unterhaltsansprüche beauftragen (§ 208 ABGB). Vereinbaren Sie dazu einen Termin mit der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe.

Ich kann mir die Bezahlung des Unterhalts nicht leisten. Was kann ich tun?

Können Sie sich als unterhaltspflichtige Person die Zahlung des Unterhalts nicht (mehr) leisten, müssen Sie einen Antrag beim zuständigen Bezirksgericht auf Unterhaltsherabsetzung oder Unterhaltsenthebung stellen.

Auch in einem solchen Fall steht Ihnen die Amt Kinder- und Jugendhilfe beratend zur Seite, vereinbaren Sie einfach einen Termin.  

Wie finde ich den/die zuständige/n RechtsvertreterIn?

Ihre/n zuständige/n RechtsvertreterIn erreichen sie über das Referat Kinder- und Jugendhilfe - Rechtsvertretung.

Kontakt

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Donnerstag:
8.00-12.00 Uhr und 14.00-17.00 Uhr

Freitag:
8.00-12.00 Uhr

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 14.11.2022