Right of contact & visits

Who has a right to contact with your children? Are there legal guidelines on this and what happens if there are problems with it?

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Learn here who has a right to visit ation, what the rules are for the right to visitation, how contact with children is regulated, and what options you have if there are problems with contact arrangements.

Who has a right to visitation contacts?

  • the parent who does not live with the child in the same household
  • grandparents
  • a person with whom the child has such a deep emotional relationship and who has built up the child that contacts are beneficial for the child's well-being

The determination of custody and the obligation to pay child support are independent of this.

Are there provisions for the right to visitation?

There is no legal requirement for the extent of the right of contact. It is assessed on a case-by-case basis. iConsideration is given to the relationship of the child to the respective parent, the age of the child and the spatial distance of the homes of both parents.

Every child has a right to contact with the parent not living in the joint household.

The legal basis for Austrian contact law is §§ 186-188 ABGB.

How is contact regulated?

The right of contact should be regulated by the parents together and in agreement. If the parents do not agree, the court decides at the request of one parent or the child. Before the child reaches the age of 14, the application for contact regulation by one parent for the child must be filed with the competent guardianship court/district court. After reaching the age of 14, the adolescent, as a minor of age, can file an application for contact arrangements in court himself/herself.

The right of contact can also be ordered and enforced by the competent guardianship court against the will of the parent who does not live in the same household as the child. In addition, personal contacts can be restricted and prohibited if they are not in the best interests of the child.

What can you do if there are problems with the contact arrangement?

First of all, you should try to work out an amicable contact arrangement or get problems out of the way during visits. If it is not possible for you to work out a mutually agreed solution and arrangement, you can ask the child and youth welfare services for help. In a one-time, joint conversation with both parents, the social workers of the Child and Youth Welfare Services try to find an amicable solution. The child is not present during this conversation. If the child is old enough, the social workers hold a separate discussion with the child.

If the parents are unable to reach a solution together with the child and youth welfare services, they are referred to the guardianship court/district court.

The child is at the center of all child and youth welfare services. Not the desire of one or both parents.

Is there a connection between the right of contact and the obligation to pay maintenance?

No. The right of contact and the maintenance obligation of the parent not living in the same household with the child are independent of each other. If the right of contact does not work for any reason, then the maintenance payments cannot be stopped (because of that).

Contact

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday:
8.00-12.00 and 14.00-17.00

Friday:
8.00-12.00

Last updated 09.12.2022

Kontaktrecht & Besuche

Wer hat ein Recht auf Kontakt mit Ihren Kindern? Gibt es gesetzliche Richtlinien dazu und was passiert, wenn es damit Probleme gibt?

Erfahren Sie hier, wer ein Recht auf Besuchskontakte hat, welche Bestimmungen es für das Recht auf Besuche gibt, wie der Kontakt zu Kindern geregelt wird und welche Möglichkeiten Sie haben, wenn es Probleme mit der Kontaktregelung gibt.

Wer hat ein Recht auf Besuchskontakte?

  • jener Elternteil, der mit dem Kind nicht im gemeinsamen Haushalt lebt
  • die Großeltern
  • eine Person, zu der das Kind eine derart tiefe emotionale Beziehung hat und die das Kinaufgebaut hat, dass Kontakte für das Kindeswohl zuträglich sind

Davon unabhängig sind die Festlegung der Obsorge und die Verpflichtung Kindesunterhalt zu bezahlen.

Gibt es Bestimmungen für das Recht auf Besuche?

Für das Ausmaß des Kontaktrechtes gibt es keine gesetzliche Vorgabe. Sie wird im Einzelfall beurteilt. iEnbezogen werden die Beziehung des Kindes zum jeweiligen Elternteil, das Alter des Kindes und die räumlichen Entfernung der Wohnungen beider Elternteile.

Jedes Kind hat ein Recht auf Kontakt zu dem nicht im gemeinsamen Haushalt lebenden Elternteil.

Rechtsgrundlage für das österreichische Kontaktrecht sind die §§ 186-188 ABGB.

Wie wird der Kontakt geregelt?

Das Kontaktrecht sollte von den Eltern gemeinsam und im Einvernehmen geregelt werden. Einigen sich die Eltern nicht, entscheidet das Gericht auf Antrag eines Elternteiles oder des Kindes. Vor dem vollendeten 14. Lebensjahr muss der Antrag auf Kontaktregelung durch ein Elternteil für das Kind beim zuständigen Pflegschaftsgericht/Bezirksgericht gestellt werden. Nach Vollendung des 14. Lebensjahres kann der/die Jugendliche als mündigeR MinderjährigeR selbst einen Antrag auf Kontaktregelung vor Gericht stellen.

Das Kontaktrecht kann durch das zuständige Pflegschaftsgericht auch gegen den Willen des nicht mit dem Kind im gemeinsamen Haushalt lebenden Elternteils angeordnet und durchgesetzt werden. Außerdem können die persönlichen Kontakte eingeschränkt und untersagt werden, wenn diese nicht dem Kindeswohl entsprechen.

Was können Sie tun, wenn es Probleme mit der Kontaktregelung gibt?

Zuerst sollten Sie versuchen, eine einvernehmliche Kontaktregelung zu erarbeiten oder Probleme bei den Besuchen aus dem Weg zu schaffen. Wenn es Ihnen nicht möglich ist, eine gemeinsam getroffene Lösung und Vereinbarung zu erarbeiten, können Sie die Kinder- und Jugendhilfe um Hilfe bitten. In einem einmaligen, gemeinsamen Gespräch mit beiden Elternteilen versuchen die SozialarbeiterInnen der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe eine einvernehmliche Lösung zu finden. Das Kind ist bei diesem Gespräch nicht anwesend. Ist es alt genug, führen die SozialarbeiterInnen mit dem Kind ein eigenes Gespräch.

Ist es den Eltern nicht möglich, gemeinsam mit der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe zu einer Lösung zu gelangen, werden Sie an das Pflegschaftsgericht/Bezirksgericht weiterverwiesen.

Bei allen Angeboten der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe steht das Kind im Zentrum. Nicht das Begehren eines oder beider Elternteile.

Gibt es einen Zusammenhang zwischen Kontaktrecht und Unterhaltspflicht?

Nein. Das Kontaktrecht und die Unterhaltsverpflichtung des nicht im gemeinsamen Haushalt mit dem Kind lebenden Elternteils sind unabhängig voneinander. Wenn das Kontaktrecht aus irgendeinem Grund nicht funktioniert, dann können die Unterhaltszahlungen (deshalb) nicht eingestellt werden.

Kontakt

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Donnerstag:
8.00-12.00 Uhr und 14.00-17.00 Uhr

Freitag:
8.00-12.00 Uhr

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 28.09.2022