Pedestrians

Innsbruck prioritizes the active mobility of Innsbruck's citizens - this includes walking in the city.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Every third trip in Innsbruck is made on foot, in the city center even every second. The city of Innsbruck provides the necessary attractive streets and sidewalks and a safe progress also for people with disabilities.

With intelligent solutions in road and path construction, but also in traffic light control and signposting, Innsbruck is increasingly becoming a city of short distances. In this way, Innsbruck is making a contribution to promoting the "environmental alliance" of pedestrian, bicycle and public transport. Among other things, there is the "Walking Master Plan".

What is the "Walking Master Plan"?

With the decision of the "Masterplan Gehen" (Walking Master Plan), the provincial capital Innsbruck takes another step towards prioritizing and promoting active mobility for Innsbruck's citizens. The goal is, on the one hand, to increase walking and, on the other hand, to ensure that 80 percent of all trips are made by bicycle, public transport or on foot (modal share).

In order to achieve this ambitious goal, the city of Innsbruck wants to give pedestrian traffic priority over other modes of transport in all planning. To this end, the infrastructure is to be improved and expanded, the quality of stay is to be increased, and safety for pedestrians is to be ensured. The city of Innsbruck is to be experienced again from the pedestrian's point of view.

Where can I request a safety path?

On the way to school of your children is missing a safety path ("crosswalk") or a hedge takes the view of the safety path? Then you can propose a protective path or ground marking.

How barrier-free is Innsbruck's street space?

In new construction and renovation projects, the city of Innsbruck pays special attention to making the street space barrier-free , especially for visually impaired and walking-impaired people. This includes, among other things, the barrier-free lowering of sidewalks in the area of intersections or protective paths and tactile guidance systems.

Do you have questions or suggestions about tactile guidance systems? Then contact the City Department Civil Engineering

Where are pedestrian zones and what rules apply there?

The pedestrian zones in Innsbruck can be seen on the city map. You are generally allowed to drive and stop there from 6:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. to carry out loading activities with motor vehicles. Parking is not permitted.

In addition, the pedestrian zones may be used throughout the day by vehicles necessary to carry out the repair of an unforeseen a ilment, if this repair cannot be postponed. For this purpose, parking is also allowed with these vehicles. Other exceptions exist for driving cabs, ambulance vehicles and, in some cases, bicycles.

If you need a permit to drive in a pedestrian zone between 10.30 a.m. and 06.00 a.m., you will find more information under Permit for loading activity.

Is cycling allowed in pedestrian zones?

In principle, cycling in a pedestrian zone is only allowed if it is permitted by means of an ordinance and appropriate signage. Please pay attention to the signs! If cycling is allowed, please ride only at walking speed.

You can find more information in the Service Unit Road traffic and road law

Where can I get information?

You can find extensive information about walking on the following websites:

Where can I go with concerns about walking?

If you have any questions, please contact the Service Unit Road Administration - Pedestrian and bicycle coordination You can also contact the city of Innsbruck with your concerns at any time via the portal Bürgermeldungen.

Last updated 27.11.2022

FußgängerInnen

Innsbruck priorisiert die aktive Mobilität der Innsbrucker BürgerInnen - dazu gehört auch das zu Fuß gehen in der Stadt.

Jeder dritte Weg in Innsbruck wird zu Fuß zurückgelegt, in der Innenstadt sogar jeder zweite. Die Stadt Innsbruck sorgt dabei für die erforderlichen attraktiven Straßen und Gehwege und ein sicheres Vorankommen auch für Menschen mit Behinderung.

Mit intelligenten Lösungen im Straßen- und Wegebau, aber auch bei Ampelschaltungen und Wegweisern wird Innsbruck mehr und mehr zur Stadt der kurzen Wege. So leistet Innsbruck einen Beitrag zur Förderung des "Umweltverbundes" aus Fußgänger-, Rad- und öffentlichem Verkehr. Unter anderem gibt es dafür den "Masterplan Gehen".

Was ist der "Masterplan Gehen"?

Mit dem Beschluss des "Masterplan Gehen" setzt die Landeshaupt Innsbruck einen weiteren Schritt in Richtung Priorisierung und Förderung der aktiven Mobilität für Innsbrucks BürgerInnen. Ziel ist es zum einen, den Fußverkehr zu steigern und zum anderen,  dass 80 Prozent aller Wege mit dem Rad, den Öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln oder zu Fuß zurückgelegt werden (Modal Share).

Um dieses ambitionierte Ziel zu erreichen, will die Stadt Innsbruck dem Fußverkehr bei allen Planungen Priorität vor anderen Verkehrsmitteln einräumen. Dazu soll die Infrastruktur verbessert und ausgebaut, die Aufenthaltsqualität erhöht und die Sicherheit für FußgängerInnen gewährleistet werden. Die Stadt Innsbruck soll aus Sicht der FußgängerInnen wieder erlebbar werden.

Wo kann ich einen Schutzweg beantragen? 

Auf dem Schulweg Ihrer Kinder fehlt ein Schutzweg ("Zebrastreifen") oder eine Hecke nimmt die Sicht auf den Schutzweg? Dann können Sie einen Schutzweg oder Bodenmarkierung vorschlagen. 

Wie barrierefrei ist Innsbrucks Straßenraum?

Bei Neu- und Umbauten achtet die Stadt Innsbruck besonders darauf, dass der Straßenraum speziell für seh- und gehbehinderte Menschen barrierefrei gestaltet wird. Dazu gehören unter anderem die barrierefreie Absenkung der Gehsteige im Bereich von Kreuzungen oder Schutzwegen und taktile Leitsysteme.

Sie haben Fragen oder Anregungen zu taktilen Leitsystemen? Dann wenden Sie sich an das Amt Tiefbau.

Wo gibt es Fußgängerzonen und welche Regeln gelten dort? 

Die Innsbrucker Fußgängerzonen sie sind im Stadtplan ersichtlich. Dort dürfen Sie grundsätzlich von 6.00 Uhr bis 10.30 Uhr zur Durchführung von Ladetätigkeiten mit Kraftfahrzeugen fahren und halten. Das Parken ist nicht erlaubt.

Darüber hinaus dürfen die Fußgängerzonen ganztägig mit den Fahrzeugen befahren werden, die zur Durchführung der Reparatur eines unvorhersehbar aufgetretenen Gebrechens notwendig sind, wenn diese Reparatur nicht aufgeschoben werden kann. Dafür ist mit diesen Fahrzeugen auch das Parken erlaubt. Weitere Ausnahmen bestehen für das Fahren mit Taxis, Krankentransportfahrzeugen und teilweise Fahrrädern.

Wenn Sie eine Bewilligung zum Befahren einer Fußgängerzone zwischen 10.30 Uhr und 06.00 Uhr benötigen finden Sie unter Genehmigung für Ladestätigkeit mehr Infos. 

 

Ist das Radfahren in den Fußgängerzonen erlaubt?

Das Radfahren in einer Fußgängerzone ist prinzipiell nur erlaubt, wenn es mittels Verordnung und entsprechender Beschilderung gestattet ist. Bitte achten Sie auf die Beschilderung! Ist das Radfahren erlaubt, dann fahren Sie bitte nur mit Schrittgeschwindigkeit.

Mehr Infos erhalten Sie im Referat Straßenverkehr und Straßenrecht.

Wo kann ich mich informieren?

Sie finden umfangreiche Informationen zum Thema Gehen auf folgenden Websites:

Wohin kann ich mich mit Anliegen zum Zufußgehen wenden? 

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Referat Straßenverwaltung - Fuß- und Radkoordination. Außerdem können Sie sich mit Ihren Anliegen jederzeit über das Portal Bürgermeldungen an die Stadt Innsbruck wenden.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 11.11.2022