City Archive

The city archive is the memory of the city of Innsbruck - here you can find everything about the history of the city back to the 13th century.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

What is the task of the City Archive?

The Innsbruck City Archives document the history of the city from its beginnings to the 21st century. However, the wealth of material from photos and postcards to oil paintings and flyers to documents and files is not kept just to collect dust. On the contrary: systematically recorded, the documents can be viewed by anyone interested - whether professor of history or amateur historian. In addition to the large stock of books, hundreds of journals and newspapers are also accessible and can be consulted within a few minutes. Large parts of the holdings can be searched with just a few mouse clicks. Selected documents are also digitized and available online.

Are you interested in contributions to the current exhibitions, the history of Innsbruck's aviation pioneers or treasures and curiosities of the City Archive? Just sit back and enjoy an acoustic foray through the city's history with the podcasts of the City Archive.

What can I find in the city archive?

In the City Archives you will find files, documents or photos - in short: (almost) everything about the history of the city of Innsbruck back to its beginnings in the 13th century. The records and documents produced by the city administration are stored here, as are personal collections and bequests. You can view all of this, provided that the relevant data protection guidelines are observed. The archive's holdings focus on the following areas:

  • Photos and postcards
  • Files of the city administration
  • Plans and maps
  • Posters and art prints
  • Documents since the foundation of the town
  • Prints until 1900
  • Watercolors, oil paintings, drawings
  • Leaflets and ordinances
  • Company letterheads and advertising material

How can I do research?

You can conduct research in person in the City Archives reading room, as well as submit inquiries to the City Archives historians via email. If you come in person, depending on your area of research, it may be useful to make additional inquiries in advance via email so that the City Archives can prepare materials for you and you are able to conduct research in the most time-efficient manner possible. Books or newspaper articles can also be quickly digitized using the book scanner.

Online, the library database is available for you to search the holdings of the City Archives. Likewise, the finding aid provides access to parts of the extensive photo archive.

You need images for publications, calendars or similar?

The Innsbruck City Archive has an enormous stock of historical image material. Upon request, the staff of the City Archive will be happy to search for images from the system for you. However, you can also search personally in the reading room using the AUGIAS system. You are welcome to take the images with you on a USB stick, provided that data protection is observed. The staff of the City Archives will also be happy to send you the images by e-mail. If the images are published, there is a flat fee of 30 euros per image. If they are used for commercial purposes, the fee is 50 euros.

Do you want to contribute to the memory of the city?

Have you ever wondered if that old box in the attic or basement might tell an interesting story? Find out now! If you find old diaries, documents or objects that could be of historical interest, the staff of the City Archives will be happy to examine them for you.

Are there any events in the City Archive?

Guided tours, book presentations and other events take place in the City Archive/City Museum. Especially popular are the city walks, which take place annually on eight different themes. Accompany the Mobile City Archive also exciting, touching, exciting and impressive journeys into the past of the state capital. Tickets can only be purchased in advance at the City Archive/City Museum. All dates and topics can be found in the calendar of events.

Is the City Archive barrier-free?

Yes, at the entrance via Herzog-Friedrich-Straße 3 (at the end of the inner courtyard) there is ground-level access to the elevator, which provides barrier-free access to the City Archive and City Museum.

Last updated 01.12.2022

Stadtarchiv

Das Stadtarchiv ist das Gedächtnis der Stadt Innsbruck – hier finden Sie alles rund um die Geschichte der Stadt bis zurück ins 13. Jahrhundert.

Was ist die Aufgabe des Stadtarchivs?

Das Stadtarchiv Innsbruck dokumentiert die Geschichte der Stadt von den Anfängen bis in das 21. Jahrhundert. Die Fülle an Material von Fotos und Postkarten über Ölgemälde und Flugzettel bis hin zu Urkunden und Akten wird jedoch nicht nur aufbewahrt, um Staub zu sammeln. Im Gegenteil: Systematisch erfasst können die Dokumente von Interessierten eingesehen werden – egal ob ProfessorIn der Geschichte oder Hobby-HistorikerIn. Neben dem großen Bücherbestand sind auch hunderte Zeitschriften und Zeitungen zugänglich, die innerhalb weniger Minuten eingesehen werden können. Große Teile des Bestandes können mit wenigen Mausklicks durchsucht werden. Ausgewählte Dokumente sind auch digitalisiert und online verfügbar.

Interessieren Sie sich für Beiträge zu den aktuellen Ausstellungen, die Geschichte der Flugpioniere Innsbrucks oder für Schätze und Kuriositäten des Stadtarchivs? Einfach zurücklehnen und mit den Podcasts des Stadtarchivs einen akustischen Streifzug durch die Stadtgeschichte genießen.

Was finde ich im Stadtarchiv?

Im Stadtarchiv finden Sie Akten, Urkunden oder Fotos – kurz: (fast) alles rund um die Geschichte der Stadt Innsbruck bis zurück zu den Anfängen im 13. Jahrhundert. Das von der Stadtverwaltung produzierte Akten- und Urkundenmaterial wird hier ebenso aufbewahrt wie persönliche Sammlungen und Nachlässe. Sie können all dies einsehen, sofern die relevanten Datenschutzrichtlinien beachtet werden. Bei den Beständen des Archivs gibt es die folgenden Schwerpunkte:

  • Fotos und Postkarten
  • Akten der Stadtverwaltung
  • Pläne und Karten
  • Plakate und Kunstdrucke
  • Urkunden seit Gründung der Stadt
  • Druckgrafiken bis 1900
  • Aquarelle, Ölgemälde, Zeichnungen
  • Flugzettel und Verordnungen
  • Firmenbriefköpfe und Werbemittel

Wie kann ich recherchieren?

Sie können sowohl persönlich im Lesesaal des Stadtarchivs recherchieren, als auch per E-Mail Anfragen an die HistorikerInnen des Stadtarchivs stellen. Wenn Sie persönlich vorbeikommen, kann es je nach Forschungsgebiet sinnvoll sein, zusätzlich vorher per E-Mail anzufragen, damit das Stadtarchiv Material für Sie vorbereiten kann und Sie in der Lage sind, möglichst zeiteffizient zu recherchieren. Bücher oder Zeitungsartikel können mithilfe des Buchscanners auch rasch digitalisiert werden.

Online steht Ihnen die Bibliotheks-Datenbank zur Verfügung, mit der Sie die Bestände des Stadtarchivs durchsuchen können. Ebenso bietet das Findbuch Zugang zu Teilen des umfangreichen Fotoarchivs.

Sie benötigen Bilder für Publikationen, Kalender oder ähnliches?

Das Stadtarchiv Innsbruck verfügt über einen gewaltigen Bestand an historischem Bildmaterial. Auf Anfrage suchen die MitarbeiterInnen des Stadtarchivs gerne Bilder für Sie aus dem System. Sie können aber auch persönlich im Lesesaal über das AUGIAS-System recherchieren. Die Bilder dürfen Sie, sofern der Datenschutz beachtet wird, gerne per USB-Stick mitnehmen. Die MitarbeiterInnen des Stadtarchivs senden Ihnen die Bilder per Mail auch gerne zu. Falls die Bilder publiziert werden, fällt eine Pauschalgebühr von 30 Euro pro Bild an. Werden sie für kommerzielle Zwecke genutzt, beträgt die Gebühr 50 Euro.

Wollen Sie zum Gedächtnis der Stadt beitragen?

Haben Sie sich auch schon einmal gefragt, ob diese alte Kiste am Dachboden oder im Keller vielleicht eine interessante Geschichte erzählt? Finden Sie es jetzt heraus! Falls Sie alte Tagebücher, Dokumente oder Gegenstände finden, die von historischem Interesse sein könnten, nehmen sie die MitarbeiterInnen des Stadtarchivs gerne für Sie unter die Lupe.

Gibt es Veranstaltungen im Stadtarchiv?

Im Stadtarchiv/Stadtmuseum finden Führungen, Buchpräsentationen und weitere Veranstaltungen statt. Besonders gefragt sind die Stadtspaziergänge, die jährlich zu acht verschiedenen Themen stattfinden. Begleiten Sie das Mobile Stadtarchiv auch spannende, berührende, aufregende und beeindruckende Reisen in die Vergangenheit der Landeshauptstadt. Die Karten können ausschließlich im Vorverkauf im Stadtarchiv/Stadtmuseum erworben werden. Alle Termine und Themen finden Sie im Veranstaltungskalender.

Ist das Stadtarchiv barrierefrei?

Ja, am Eingang über die Herzog-Friedrich-Straße 3 (am Ende des Innenhofs) gibt es einen ebenerdigen Zugang zum Aufzug, mit dem Stadtarchiv und Stadtmuseum barrierefrei erreicht werden können. 

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 25.10.2022