Museum Golden Roof

The landmark of the city of Innsbruck - here you will also find the history of the Dachl and its builder, Maximilian I.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

The Golden Roof - Landmark of the City of Innsbruck

Emperor Maximilian I had the Golden Roof, a late Gothic oriel covered with 2,657 gilded copper shingles, built between 1497 and 1500 on the south front of the government building known as the "Neuhof". The master builder and creator of the reliefs is considered to be Nikolaus Türing the Elder. The fresco decoration is attributed to Jörg Kölderer, the court painter of Emperor Maximilian I. The special quality of this building was recognized only late. For a long time, it led a rather inconspicuous existence, among other things as an administrative building and barracks. It was not until the end of the 19th century, with the beginning of tourism in Tyrol, that the magnificent oriel became a landmark of the city of Innsbruck.

Museum Goldenes Dachl - a place for inquisitive minds, history buffs and families

For over 500 years, the gilded shingles of the roof(l)s, known far beyond the borders of Tyrol, have welcomed Innsbruck's visitors. The Goldenes Dachl Museum offers a new perspective on the city's most photographed landmark. Enjoy the view from the oriel into Innsbruck's old town. Immerse yourself in history at the transition from the Middle Ages to modern times. Get acquainted with one of the most important personalities in Tyrolean history: Emperor Maximilian I, who went down in the history books as a media emperor, patron of the arts, (family) political genius and "last knight". Centuries-old exhibits combined with new multimedia technologies open up an informative and varied look at the time of Emperor Maximilian I.

The Goldenes Dachl for children

For younger visitors, there are entertaining children's stations and a puzzle rally, so one thing is sure to never happen at the Goldenes Dachl Museum: boredom.

Special exhibition "What Remains?

The special exhibition "What Remains?" is dedicated to the question of how and where Emperor Maximilian I can still be traced today. How, for example, did the Golden Roof become the landmark of the city of Innsbruck or where can one still find traces of buildings from the Maximilian period in Tyrol today?

What does a visit to the Goldenes Dachl cost?

  • Standard admission: 5,20 Euro
  • Reduced admission: 2,70 Euro
    • Seniors
    • Students
    • JUFF/Ö1 members
    • Groups over 10 persons
  • Free admission:
    • School classes
    • Children under 6 years
    • Visitors with disabilities
    • Austriaguides & journalists with press card
    • Holders of an IVB annual ticket, leisure ticket, Innsbruck Card, culture pass or ICOM card.
    • Austrian Museums Association, Austrian Art Historians Association, Kolping Association.
  • Further offers
    • JUFF - Family ticket: 6 Euro
    • Combitickets:
      • Goldenes Dachl and City Museum: 6,50 Euro - Family ticket: 12,50 Euro
      • Goldenes Dachl, City Museum and City Tower: 9 Euro - Family ticket: 17,50 Euro

Contact

Opening hours

May - September:
daily 10.00-17.00

October - April:
Monday closed,
Tuesday to Sunday: 10.00-17.00

Last updated 02.12.2022

Museum Goldenes Dachl

Das Wahrzeichen der Stadt Innsbruck – hier finden Sie auch die Geschichte des Dachls und seines Bauherrn, Maximilian I.

Das Goldene Dachl – Wahrzeichen der Stadt Innsbruck

Kaiser Maximilian I. ließ das Goldene Dachl, einen mit 2.657 vergoldeten Kupferschindeln gedeckten Prunkerker im spätgotischen Stil, zwischen 1497 und 1500 an der Südfront des als „Neuhof“ bezeichneten Regierungsgebäudes errichten. Als Baumeister und Schöpfer der Reliefs gilt Nikolaus Türing der Ältere. Der Freskenschmuck wird Jörg Kölderer, dem Hofmaler Kaiser Maximilian I., zugeschrieben. Die besondere Qualität dieses Bauwerks wurde erst spät erkannt. Lange Zeit fristete es ein eher unauffälliges Dasein, unter anderem als Verwaltungsgebäude und als Kaserne. Erst gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts, mit dem Beginn des Tourismus in Tirol, wurde der prunkvolle Erker zum Wahrzeichen der Stadt Innsbruck.

Museum Goldenes Dachl – ein Ort für Wissbegierige, Geschichtefans und Familien

Seit über 500 Jahren begrüßen die vergoldeten Schindeln des weit über die Grenzen Tirols bekannten Dach(l)s Innsbrucks BesucherInnen. Eine neue Perspektive auf die meistfotografierte Sehenswürdigkeit der Stadt bietet das Museum Goldenes Dachl. Genießen Sie den Ausblick vom Prunkerker in die Innsbrucker Altstadt. Tauchen Sie in die Geschichte am Übergang vom Mittelalter in die Neuzeit ein. Machen Sie Bekanntschaft mit einer der wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten der Tiroler Geschichte: Kaiser Maximilian I., der als Medienkaiser, Kunstmäzen, (familien-)politisches Genie und „letzter Ritter“ in die Geschichtsbücher eingegangen ist. Jahrhundertealte Ausstellungsstücke verbunden mit neuen multimedialen Technologien eröffnen einen informativen und abwechslungsreichen Blick in die Zeit Kaiser Maximilian I.

Das Goldene Dachl für Kinder

Für jüngere BesucherInnen gibt es unterhaltsame Kinderstationen und eine Rätsel-Rallye, sodass eines im Museum Goldenes Dachl sicherlich nicht aufkommt: Langeweile.

Sonderausstellung „Was bleibt?“

Die Sonderausstellung „Was bleibt?“ widmet sich der Frage, wie und wo Kaiser Maximilian I. heute noch nachgespürt werden kann. Wie wurde zum Beispiel das Goldene Dachl zum Wahrzeichen der Stadt Innsbruck oder wo findet man in Tirol heute noch Bauspuren aus der maximilianischen Zeit?

Was kostet ein Besuch im Goldenen Dachl?

  • Standardeintritt: 5,20 Euro
  • Ermäßigter Eintritt: 2,70 Euro
    • SeniorInnen
    • Studierende
    • JUFF/Ö1-Mitglieder
    • Gruppen über 10 Personen
  • Freier Eintritt:
    • Schulklassen
    • Kinder unter 6 Jahren
    • BesucherInnen mit Behinderungen
    • Austriaguides & JournalistInnen mit Presseausweis
    • BesitzerInnen eines IVB-Jahrestickets, Freizeittickets, einer Innsbruck Card, eines Kultur Passes oder einer ICOM-Karte.
    • Österreichischer Museumsbund, Österreichischer Kunsthistoriker Verband, Kolpingverein.
  • Weitere Angebote
    • JUFF – Familienkarte: 6 Euro
    • Kombitickets:
      • Goldenes Dachl und Stadtmuseum: 6,50 Euro – Familienticket: 12,50 Euro
      • Goldenes Dachl, Stadtmuseum und Stadtturm: 9 Euro – Familienticket: 17,50 Euro

Kontakt

Öffnungszeiten

Mai - September: 
täglich 10.00-17.00 Uhr

Oktober - April: 
Montag geschlossen, 
Dienstag bis Sonntag: 10.00-17.00 Uhr

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 25.10.2022