City Senate

The preparatory decision-making for the Municipal Council takes place in the Municipal Senate.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

The municipal council elects the city senate from among its members. It consists of the mayor, the first and second deputy mayors and a maximum of six other city councilors. The number of councilors is determined by the municipal council.

The Municipal Council has set the size of the City Senate for the current period at seven members. In addition to the mayor and the first and second deputy mayors, the city senate includes four other members. The seats are allocated according to the number of seats in the municipal council, currently two Greens, two FPÖ (non-executive), one FI, one VP and one SP.

Members & Groups

Willi George



Lassenberger Markus

1. Deputy Mayor


Ing. Mag. Anzengruber Johannes, BSc

2. Deputy Mayor


Mag.a Schwarzl Uschi

acting councilwoman


Mag.a oppitz-Plörer Christine

acting councilwoman


Mag.a mayr Elisabeth

acting councilwoman


Federspiel Rudolf

City council without office


Here you can find the organizational structure of the citymagistrat Innsbruck including all responsible departments:

What are the tasks of the City Senate?

  • The City Senate is responsible for the preliminary discussion of all matters subject to decision by the City Council, unless special committees have been appointed for this purpose or the City Council does not deal with the matters directly.
  • In certain matters, the City Senate may pass resolutions independently.
  • The meetings of the City Senate are held once a week.

The areas for which the City Senate is responsible can be found in § 28 Innsbruck City Law.

Topics of the City Senate

Here you can find the current topics and resolutions from the meetings of the Innsbruck City Senate: