Kaiser Maximilian Prize

The Kaiser Maximilian Prize is awarded by the City of Innsbruck and the Province of Tyrol to projects that promote the European unification process.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Since 1998, the Emperor Maximilian Award of the Province of Tyrol and the City of Innsbruck has honored extraordinary achievements by personalities in the field of European regional and local politics.

Since the reorientation in 2019, the call for entries is directed at projects and initiatives that are committed to the central goals of the European unification process in a joint, creative and sustainable manner.

  • Anton Mattle, Governor of the Tyrol
  • Georg Willi, Mayor of Innsbruck
  • In order to ensure a future worth living, we need a strong common European basis more than ever. The future is today's youth - the Emperor Maximilian Award brings their wishes, concerns and ideas to the forefront and makes the European idea visible.

    Governor Anton Mattle

    Governor Anton Mattle© Land Tirol/Berger

  • A strong, united Europe needs people who creatively realize their ideas and projects despite sudden obstacles. Their example gives hope.

    Mayor Georg Willi

    A portrait of Mayor Georg Willi. © Christian Forcher

Application for the Kaiser Maximilian Prize

What is the Emperor Maximilian Award?

The "Emperor Maximilian Award for European Merit at Regional and Municipal Level" of the Province of Tyrol and the City of Innsbruck recognizes and supports projects and initiatives from all walks of life that put the European idea into practice at regional and municipal level. The prize money, endowed with 10,000 euros, is earmarked for the winning project.

Who can apply?

The Emperor Maximilian Award is aimed at all projects and initiatives at regional and municipal level that strive for cross-border European coexistence. The applicant must be at least 18 years old and a citizen of one of the 27 EU member states and/or one of the 46 member states of the Council of Europe. Details on the application requirements can be found in the application note.

When can I apply?

The application period started on March 15, 2023 and ends on April 20, 2023 at midnight.

How can I apply?

The application is made online by means of an application form in English.

How is the winner determined?

Following the application, the submissions that meet the application requirements will be forwarded to an award jury for evaluation. The jury is composed of representatives of the Province of Tyrol, the City of Innsbruck, the "Committee of the Regions" (CoR), the "Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe" (CLRAE), the "Assembly of European Regions" (AER), the "Council of European Municipalities and Regions" (CEMR) and the University of Innsbruck. The winning project will be determined in a jury meeting in May 2023.

When will the award ceremony take place?

The Emperor Maximilian Prize was awarded in November 2023 in Innsbruck. All further information on the Kaiser Maximilian Prize can be found at kaisermaximilianpreis.at.

The winners of the Kaiser Maximilian Prize 2023

View on Vimeo