European elections

The European elections will take place on June 9. Citizens of all 27 member states of the European Union (EU) will elect their representatives directly to the European Parliament.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Who can vote?

All Austrian citizens and non-Austrian EU citizens who have reached the age of 16 on the day of the election at the latest and have their main residence in Innsbruck are eligible to vote. Austrians who have their main residence in Innsbruck are automatically entered in the electoral register. Persons with Austrian citizenship who live abroad also have the opportunity to participate in the election with a polling card. To do so, you must be registered in the European voter register. A corresponding application is possible until April 25, 2024. You can find it here:

Non-Austrian EU citizens can exercise their right to vote in their Member State of origin and elect the MEPs of their home country. However, they can also register in the European electoral register and vote for Austrian MEPs in their Austrian municipality of residence.

An application for registration in the European voter register is possible until the deadline of March 26, 2024. The relevant form can be obtained from any Austrian municipality. In Innsbruck, you can obtain the form from the Service Unit Registration and residents' affairs, passport matters department on the 1st floor (staircase at the Citizens' Service).

You can also download the application form here:

Declaration of support for an electoral party

From March 26, 2024, you can sign declarations of support for campaigning parties in the Service Unit Registration and residents' affairs, passport matters.

Please draw a number under the heading "Declaration of support" and do not forget your original official photo ID.

Voting with a polling card

All persons entitled to vote receive an "Official Election Information" by post. This provides information about the relevant polling station and contains a numerical code for applying for an online polling card or alternatively a written polling card application with return envelope. Voting in the European elections is also possible using a polling card - at any polling station or by postal vote.

You can apply for your polling card at the municipality in whose European voter register you are registered, either verbally or in writing, starting on the day the election is announced.

You can apply for a polling card in writing until 5 June 2024 - if it is possible to hand over the polling card in person to a person authorized by you, until 7 June 2024, 12:00 noon - and orally (in person) until 7 June 2024, 12:00 noon.

Further information on the European elections can be found here:

Europa-Wahlen

Am 9. Juni finden die Europa-Wahlen statt. Dabei wählen BürgerInnen aller 27 Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Union (EU) ihre Abgeordneten direkt ins Europäische Parlament.

Wer darf wählen?

Wahlberechtigt sind alle österreichischen StaatsbürgerInnen sowie nichtösterreichische EU-BürgerInnen, die spätestens am Tag der Wahl das 16. Lebensjahr vollendet und ihren Hauptwohnsitz in Innsbruck haben. ÖsterreicherInnen, die in Innsbruck ihren Hauptwohnsitz haben, sind automatisch in die Wählerevidenz eingetragen. Auch Personen mit österreichischer Staatsbürgerschaft, die im Ausland leben, haben die Möglichkeit, mit einer Wahlkarte an der Wahl teilzunehmen. Hierfür müssen Sie in der Europa-Wählerevidenz eingetragen sein. Ein entsprechender Antrag ist bis zum 25. April 2024 möglich. Diesen finden Sie hier:

Nichtösterreichische UnionsbürgerInnen können ihr aktives Wahlrecht in ihrem Herkunftsmitgliedsstaat ausüben und die EU-Abgeordneten ihres Heimatstaates wählen. Sie können sich aber auch in die Europa-Wählerevidenz eintragen lassen und in ihrer österreichischen Wohnsitzgemeinde die österreichischen Abgeordneten wählen.

Ein Antrag auf Eintragung in die Europa-Wählerevidenz ist bis zum Stichtag am 26. März 2024 möglich. Das entsprechende Formular erhält man bei jeder österreichischen Gemeinde. In Innsbruck erhält man das Formular im Referat Referat Melde- und Einwohnerwesen, Passangelegenheiten im 1. Stock (Aufgang beim Bürgerservice).

Darüber hinaus können Sie den Antrag hier downloaden:

Unterstützungserklärung für wahlwerbende Partei

Ab dem 26. März 2024 können Sie im Referat Melde- und Einwohnerwesen, Passangelegenheiten Unterstützungs­erklärungen für wahlwerbende Parteien unterzeichnen.

Bitte ziehen Sie eine Nummer unter der Bezeichnung „Unterstützungserklärung“ und vergessen Sie nicht Ihren amtlichen Lichtbildausweis im Original.

Wählen mit Wahlkarte

Alle wahlberechtigten Personen erhalten eine „Amtliche Wahlinformation“ per Post zugesendet. Diese informiert über das zuständige Wahllokal und beinhaltet einen Zahlencode für die allfällige Beantragung einer Online-Wahlkarte bzw. alternativ einen schriftlichen Wahlkartenantrag mit Rücksendekuvert. Bei der Europawahl ist die Stimmabgabe auch mittels Wahlkarte – in jedem Wahllokal oder in Form der Briefwahl – möglich.

Ihre Wahlkarte können Sie bei der Gemeinde, in deren Europa-Wählerevidenz Sie eingetragen sind, mündlich oder schriftlich beginnend mit dem Tag der Wahlausschreibung - beantragen.

Schriftlich können Sie die Wahlkarte bis zum 5. Juni 2024 – wenn eine persönliche Übergabe der Wahlkarte an eine von Ihnen bevollmächtigte Person möglich ist, bis zum 7. Juni 2024, 12.00 Uhr – beantragen, mündlich (persönlich) bis zum 7. Juni 2024, 12.00 Uhr.

Weitere Informationen zur Europa-Wahl finden Sie hier: