European elections

The European elections will take place on June 9. Citizens of all 27 member states of the European Union (EU) will elect their representatives directly to the European Parliament.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Who can vote?

All Austrian citizens and non-Austrian EU citizens who have reached the age of 16 on the day of the election at the latest and have their main residence in Innsbruck are eligible to vote. Austrians who have their main residence in Innsbruck are automatically entered in the electoral register. Persons with Austrian citizenship who live abroad also have the opportunity to participate in the election with a polling card. To do so, you must be registered in the European voter register. A corresponding application is possible until April 25, 2024. You can find it here:

Non-Austrian EU citizens can exercise their right to vote in their Member State of origin and elect the MEPs of their home country. However, they can also register in the European electoral register and vote for Austrian MEPs in their Austrian municipality of residence.

An application for registration in the European voter register is possible until the deadline of March 26, 2024. The relevant form can be obtained from any Austrian municipality. In Innsbruck, you can obtain the form from the Service Unit Registration and residents' affairs, passport matters department on the 1st floor (staircase at the Citizens' Service).

You can also download the application form here:

Declaration of support for an electoral party

From March 26, 2024, you can sign declarations of support for campaigning parties in the Service Unit Registration and residents' affairs, passport matters.

Please draw a number under the heading "Declaration of support" and do not forget your original official photo ID.

Voting with a polling card

All persons entitled to vote receive an "Official Election Information" by post. This provides information about the relevant polling station and contains a numerical code for applying for an online polling card or alternatively a written polling card application with return envelope. Voting in the European elections is also possible using a polling card - at any polling station or by postal vote.

You can apply for your polling card at the municipality in whose European voter register you are registered, either verbally or in writing, starting on the day the election is announced.

You can apply for a polling card in writing until 5 June 2024 - if it is possible to hand over the polling card in person to a person authorized by you, until 7 June 2024, 12:00 noon - and orally (in person) until 7 June 2024, 12:00 noon.

Further information on the European elections can be found here: