Supply & disposal, waste prevention

Everything about waste collection, waste fees, garbage cans and bags, composting and contact persons in the field of waste disposal

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

In Innsbruck, great importance is attached to waste separation. Residual and organic waste is handled by the City of Innsbruck. Light packaging, paper, metal packaging and glass are collected by Innsbrucker Kommunalbetriebe AG(IKB). On this page you will find everything about supply and disposal in Innsbruck:

Where can I dispose of my waste?

  • Residual and organic waste is collected from your home by IKB on behalf of the City of Innsbruck. For this purpose, you will need garbage garbage cans or, in the case of small amounts of residual waste, garbage bags. You can also compost the organic waste yourself. You can find out when the waste is collected from your street in the IKB waste calendar.
  • Light packaging and paper waste is also collected from your home. You will need the designated trash cans or bags for this as well. You can find out when these recyclables are collected from your street in the IKB waste calendar.
  • You can dispose of metal packaging as well as non-ferrous and white glass at the approximately 130 collection islands in the city area.
  • Clean and unblemished old clothes can be dropped off at the WAMS old clothes containers. You can find the locations on the IKB map.
  • Click here for the location map of the recycling collection points in Innsbruck
  • At the mobile problem material collection you can dispose of household cleaners, solvents, medicines or consumer batteries.
  • The following disposal options are available for green and shrub cuttings:
  • All household waste in household quantities will be taken at the Recyclinghof Roßau. Detailed information can be found under Recyclinghof Roßau or in IKB's recycling brochure.

Why should I separate waste?

Separating waste protects the environment and saves money. While disposing of residual waste incurs costs, disposing of recyclables is free. If more garbage is recycled, garbage fees can be saved. That means lower costs for everyone.

How do I separate waste properly?

Have you always wondered what to do with styrofoam, rechargeable batteries, Tetra Paks, magazines and the like? Then you'll find the answers in the Waste ABC or on IKB's YouTube channel. If you want to know exactly, you can find detailed information in the Federal Waste Separation ABC (BMK).

In the series "Waste separation: Where do we actually put ... ?", IKB explains which garbage can certain types of waste belong in.

View on YouTube

How can I avoid waste?

IKB's environmental and waste consulting service offers information material on waste avoidance and separation, but also waste room planning, education in educational institutions, advice on waste disposal in companies or consulting for event organizers. IKB is also happy to answer individual questions about waste and separation.

At noamol.at you can find environmentally friendly and resource-saving alternatives to buying and reusing used items. In addition to second-hand stores, rental and repair points in your area, ideas for upcycling and further info on the topic are also available.

More upcycling ideas:

IKB's environmental and waste consulting service is happy to answer questions about waste in Innsbruck.

How much is my waste fee?

The basic fee for waste in Innsbruck is calculated based on the number of rooms in a building (see waste fee regulations).

The waste fee is made up of the basic fee (depending on the number of rooms in a property) and the additional fee (depending on the number of people living at a property - minimum volume/person and week = 15 liters for residual and organic waste).

Ifyou compost on your own property, the 15 liters can be reduced to eight liters per person upon application: Application for reduction of the garbage fee

You can find more details at Service Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee

Do I have to report my waste requirements?

If your demand increases or decreases because you are building an extension, a conversion or a new building, or because there are more or fewer people living in the building, you must report this in writing to Service Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee.. or the IKB. This is a reporting requirement!

Do not forget to inform the Service Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee.. if the responsibilities in your building change, e.g. if the property management changes.

How do I get a residual or organic waste garbage can or residual waste bags?

You must notify Service Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee.. report your need. This way you will also receive containers for your waste. If your current container is not sufficient, you can also order a residual waste or organic waste container using this form.

Where can I get residual waste bags?

You can get residual waste bags in the Service Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee.. of the city of Innsbruck, at the waste collection of IKB in Richard-Berger-Strasse 2 or at the IKB Customer Center in Salurnerstrasse 11.

By the way: At the recycling center you can also get a free organic waste bucket with a capacity of ten liters. However, this does not replace the organic waste garbage can for waste collection.

Where can I get yellow bags?

Yellow bags are sent out once a year. If these are not sufficient, you can pick up more at the IKB Customer Center, at the recycling center and at the IKB waste collection at Richard-Berger-Strasse 2.

If you have any questions about plastic, paper, glass or metal waste, please contact IKB.

Where can I get oil containers?

You can collect used oil in oil containers, which you can get and hand in at the recycling center or at the problem material collection.

I want to compost my organic waste myself, what do I have to do?

You may also compost your own organic waste on your own property. You must inform theService Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee of the city of Innsbruck in order to receive a reduction of the waste fee. To do so, please contact the Service Unit Municipal taxes - assessment - Waste fee

Subsidy & advice for the purchase of a composter

Property owners who set up and operate their own composting in the garden can apply for a one-time reimbursement of the purchase amount of half the acquisition costs up to a maximum of 36.34 euros per property when purchasing a composter or composting aid (e.g. cover fleece, sieve, spade, shredder).

The City of Innsbruck must be notified in writing of the start and end of the self-composting activity. With the notification, the self-composter undertakes to compost all biologically recyclable municipal waste, with the exception of tree and shrub cuttings, on his own property throughout the year. This is considered a condition of receiving the rebate.

Where to put garden waste and green waste?

Garden waste from private gardens of Innsbruck municipal citizens is accepted free of charge at the städtischen Kompostieranlage up to an annual quantity of 1,000 kg per property. "Pure" branches (free of leaves, roots and soil, branch diameter at least 2 cm) can be handed in free of charge for an unlimited period of time.

In addition to the municipal composting facility in Roßau, there is also the Grünschnittsammelstelle Kranebitter Allee. At the collection point there, you can hand in small quantities of green waste (delivery in containers that can be carried by one person). The collection point is closed during the winter months.

You can also deliver garden waste to the recycling center.

An appointment can also be made with IKB for a fee, in which case the shrubbery clippings will be picked up on site.

Can I buy compost from the city?

You can purchase quality A+ compost and a special compost/humus mix at the städtischen Kompostieranlage. Please bring containers for this purpose.

Who takes care of light packaging, paper, glass or metal waste?

Light packaging, paper, glass or metal waste is the responsibility of IKB. The collected recyclable materials are passed on to recyclers in order to obtain recycled material from them. if you have any questions about this, please contact IKB directly.

Who do I contact with questions about disposal?

Where do I report illegal waste dumping?

Please report illegal waste dumping via the citizen reporting portal.

Last updated 06.12.2022

Ver- & Entsorgung, Abfallvermeidung

Alles rund um Abfallsammlung, Abfallgebühren, Mülltonnen und -säcke, Kompostierung und Ansprechpersonen im Bereich Müllentsorgung

In Innsbruck wird auf Mülltrennung viel Wert gelegt. Der Rest- und Biomüll wird über die Stadt Innsbruck abgewickelt. Leichtverpackungen, Papier, Metallverpackungen und Glas sammeln die Innsbrucker Kommunalbetriebe AG (IKB). Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alles rund um Ver- und Entsorgung in Innsbruck:

Wo kann ich meinen Müll entsorgen?

  • Rest- und Biomüll wird im Auftrag der Stadt Innsbruck von der IKB bei Ihnen zuhause gesammelt und abgeholt. Dafür brauchen Sie Mülltonnen oder bei kleinen Mengen Restmüll auch Müllsäcke. Sie können den Biomüll auch selbst kompostieren. Wann der Müll in Ihrer Straße abgeholt wird, steht im Abfallkalender der IKB.
  • Leichtverpackungs- und Papiermüll wird ebenso bei Ihnen zuhause gesammelt und abgeholt. Auch dafür brauchen Sie die dafür vorgesehenen Mülltonnen oder -säcke. Wann diese Wertstoffe in Ihrer Straße abgeholt werden, steht im Abfallkalender der IKB.
  • Metallverpackungen sowie Bunt- und Weißglas können Sie bei den rund 130 Sammelinseln im Stadtgebiet entsorgen.
  • Saubere und einwandfreie Altkleider können in den WAMS-Altkleider-Containern abgegeben werden. Die Standorte finden Sie auf der Karte der IKB.
  • Hier geht's zur Standortkarte der Wertstoffsammelstellen in Innsbruck
  • Bei der mobilen Problemstoffsammlung  können Sie Haushaltsreiniger, Lösungsmittel, Medikamente oder Konsumbatterien entsorgen.
  • Für Grün- und Strauchschnitt gibt es folgende Entsorgungsmöglichkeiten:
  • Alle haushaltsüblichen Abfälle in haushaltsüblichen Mengen werden am Recyclinghof Roßau übernommen. Genaue Infos finden Sie unter Recyclinghof Roßau oder in Recycling-Broschüre der IKB.

Warum sollte ich Müll trennen?

Müll trennen schont die Umwelt und spart Geld. Während die Entsorgung von Restmüll Kosten verursacht, ist die Entsorgung von Wertstoffen kostenlos. Wird mehr Müll recycelt, können Müllgebühren eingespart werden. Das bedeutet weniger Kosten für alle.

Wie trenne ich Müll richtig?

Haben Sie sich immer schon gefragt: Wohin mit Styropor, Akkus, Tetra Paks, Magazinen und Co.? Dann finden Sie die Antworten im Abfall-ABC oder auf dem Youtube-Kanal der IKB. Wer es ganz genau wissen will, findet detaillierte Infos im Abfall-Trenn-ABC des Bundes (BMK).

In der Serie "Mülltrennung: Wohin eigentlich mit ... ?" klären die IKB darüber auf, in welche Tonne bestimmte Abfälle gehören.

View on YouTube

Wie kann ich Müll vermeiden?

Die Umwelt- und Abfallberatung der IKB bietet Infomaterial zur Müllvermeidung und Trennung, aber auch Müllraumplanungen, Aufklärung in Bildungseinrichtungen, Beratung zu Abfallentsorgungen in Unternehmen oder Beratungen von VeranstalterInnen. Gerne beantworten die IKB auch individuelle Fragen zu Abfall und Trennung.

Auf noamol.at finden Sie umweltfreundliche und ressourcenschonende Alternativen zum Kauf und zur Weiterverwendung von gebrauchten Gegenständen. Neben Secondhand-Läden, Verleih- und Reparaturstellen in Ihrer Nähe stehen auch Ideen für Upcycling und weitere Infos zum Thema zur Verfügung.

Weitere Upcycling Ideen:

Die Umwelt- und Abfallberatung der IKB beantwortet gerne Fragen rund um das Thema Abfall in Innsbruck.

Wie hoch ist meine Abfallgebühr?

Die Grundgebühr für Müll errechnet sich in Innsbruck aus der Anzahl der Räume eines Gebäudes (siehe Abfallgebührenordnung).

Die Abfallgebühr setzt sich aus der Grundgebühr (abhängig von der Anzahl der Räume einer Liegenschaft) und der weiteren Gebühr (abhängig von der Personenanzahl, die an einer Liegenschaft wohnen - Mindestvorhaltevolumen/Person und Woche = 15 Liter für Rest- und Biomüll) zusammen.

Kompostieren Sie selbst auf Ihrem eigenen Grund, können auf Antrag die 15 auf acht Liter pro Person herabgesetzt werden: Antrag auf Reduzierung der Müllgebühr

Genaueres erfahren Sie beim Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr.

Muss ich meinen Abfallbedarf melden?

Steigt oder sinkt Ihr Bedarf, weil Sie zu-, um-, oder neubauen oder mehr oder weniger Personen im Gebäude wohnen, müssen Sie dies schriftlich dem Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr oder der IKB melden. Das ist eine Meldepflicht! 

Vergessen Sie auch nicht, dem Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr zu melden, wenn sich die Zuständigkeiten in Ihrem Gebäude ändern, zB beim Wechsel der Hausverwaltung. 

Wie komme ich zu einer Rest- oder Biomülltonne oder zu Restmüllsäcken?

Sie müssen dem Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr Ihren Bedarf melden. So erhalten Sie auch Behältnisse für Ihren Abfall. Reicht Ihr derzeitiges Behältnis nicht aus, können Sie auch einen Restmüll- oder Biomüllbehälter mit diesem Formular bestellen. 

Wo bekomme ich Restmüllsäcke?

Restmüllsäcke können Sie im Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr der Stadt Innsbruck, bei der Abfallsammlung der IKB in der Richard-Berger-Straße 2 oder im IKB Kundencenter in der Salurnerstraße 11 abholen.

Übrigens: Am Recyclinghof bekommen Sie auch gratis einen Biomüll-Eimer mit einem Fassungsvermögen von zehn Litern. Dieser ersetzt aber nicht die Biomülltonne für die Abfallabholung. 

Wo bekomme ich Gelbe Säcke?

Gelbe Säcke werden ein Mal jährlich zugesandt. Reichen diese nicht aus, können Sie weitere im IKB Kundencenter, am Recyclinghof und bei der Abfallsammlung der IKB in der Richard-Berger-Straße 2 abholen.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Kunststoff-, Papier-, Glas-, oder Metallabfall, wenden Sie sich bitte an die IKB.

Wo bekomme ich Öli-Behälter?

Altöl sammeln Sie in Öl-Behältern, die Sie am Recyclinghof oder bei der Problemstoffsammlung erhalten und abgeben können.

Ich möchte meinen Biomüll selbst kompostieren, was muss ich tun?

Sie können Ihren Biomüll auf Ihrem eigenen Grund auch selbst kompostieren. Dies müssen Sie dem Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr der Stadt Innsbruck mitteilen, um eine Vergünstigung der Abfallgebühr zu erhalten. Bitte kontaktieren Sie dazu das Referat Gemeindeabgaben - Vorschreibung - Abfallgebühr.

Förderung & Beratung für die Anschaffung eines Komposters

LiegenschaftseigentümerInnen, die im Garten eine Eigenkompostierung einrichten und betreiben, können einmalig bei Anschaffung eines Komposters oder Kompostierhilfsgerätes (z.B. Abdeckvlies, Sieb, Spaten, Häcksler) um eine Rückvergütung des Kaufbetrages in Höhe der halben Anschaffungskosten bis maximal 36,34 Euro pro Liegenschaft ansuchen. 

Die Aufnahme und das Ende der Tätigkeit des Eigenkompostierens ist dem Stadtmagistrat Innsbruck schriftlich anzuzeigen. Mit der Anzeige verpflichtet sich der Eigenkompostierer ganzjährig sämtliche biologisch verwertbaren Siedlungsabfälle, mit Ausnahme von Baum- und Strauchschnitt, auf dem eigenem Grundstück zu kompostieren. Dies gilt als Bedingung für den Erhalt der Rückvergütung.

Wohin mit Gartenabfällen und Grünschnitt? 

Gartenabfälle aus Privatgärten von Innsbrucker GemeindebürgerInnen werden in der städtischen Kompostieranlage bis zu einer jährlichen Menge von 1.000 kg pro Liegenschaft kostenlos angenommen. "Sortenreines" Astwerk (laubfrei, wurzel- und erdfrei, Astdurchmesser mind. 2 cm) kann unbegrenzt kostenlos abgegeben werden.

Neben der städtischen Kompostieranlage in der Roßau gibt es auch die Grünschnittsammelstelle Kranebitter Allee. Bei der dortigen Sammelstelle können Sie Grünschnitt in Kleinmengen (Anlieferung in Behältnissen, die von einer Person getragen werden können) abgegeben. Während der Wintermonate bleibt die Sammelstelle geschlossen.

Außerdem können Sie Gartenabfälle auch am Recyclinghof abgeben.

Gegen Bezahlung kann auch ein Termin mit der IKB vereinbart werden, dann wird der Strauchschnitt vor Ort abgeholt.

Kann ich Kompost von der Stadt kaufen?

Sie können Qualitätskompost der Klasse A+ und ein spezielles Kompost-/Humusgemisch in der städtischen Kompostieranlage kaufen. Bitte nehmen Sie dafür Behältnisse mit. 

Wer kümmert sich um Leichtverpackungs-, Papier-, Glas- oder Metallmüll?

Leichtverpackungs-, Papier-, Glas- oder Metallmüll fällt in den Zuständigkeitsbereich der IKB. Die gesammelten Wertstoffe werden an Verwerter weitergegeben, um daraus Recycling-Material zu gewinnen.  Falls Sie Fragen dazu haben, wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die IKB.

An wen wende ich mich bei Fragen zur Entsorgung?

Wo melde ich eine illegale Müllablagerung?

Melden Sie illegale Müllablagerungen bitte über das Bürgermeldungs-Portal

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 14.11.2022