Climate projects

Here you can find a selection of projects of the city of Innsbruck against climate change or its effects.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

What projects against climate change and for adaptation are there in Innsbruck?

Innsbruck Urban Climate Analysis and Adaptation Strategies

Energy plan: Energy autonomy 2050

At the beginning of the strategic planning there was already the Innsbruck Energy Plan from 2010, which has been updated in the meantime and aims at energy autonomy 2050 as a target scenario.

Environment and Sustainability Award of the City of Innsbruck

The city of Innsbruck announces an environmental award every two years. This time, for the first time, the prize was named "Environment and Sustainability Award of the City of Innsbruck 2021". The prize is awarded for ambitious and innovative projects and project concepts in the field of environmental protection and sustainability. It will be newly announced in 2023.

INN'F4UM - Innsbruck's Fit4Urban Mission

INN'F4UM develops measures that can make Innsbruck climate neutral by 2030. These range from renovation of existing buildings, further use of sealed areas for energy production, for example by means of photovoltaics, and increased use of infrastructure.

EU - FP 7 Project Sinfonia (2014-2020)

The Sinfonia project "Smart Cities & Communities" with more than 30 partners from eight countries has already been completed. In the city of Innsbruck, energy-saving measures were tried out in city districts. Among others, IKB gained experience in the areas of modern cogeneration, solar thermal energy, heat-cold storage, heat pumps for the use of local waste heat sources or heat supply via district heating networks. The project was handled by the Standortagentur Tirol

cool-INN & alp-INN: Cool urban living spaces

Cool places for a cool Innsbruck. To cool down so-called heat islands, there are already two projects in the city of Innsbruck: cool-Inn & alp-INN.

cool-INN has already been implemented by the City of Innsbruck, IKB, the University of Innsbruck and the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences in Vienna (BOKU). The aim was to achieve an improved quality of stay of the square and the park at the fairground in Ing-Etzel-Straße. In December 2021, the construction work was completed and the park was enlivened by numerous events in the summer of 2022 (KlimaSalon).

The DDr. Alois-Lugger-Platz(alp-INN) in the center of the Olympic Village is also to be designed in a climate-friendly way with the involvement of the population, the local clubs and businesses. The adjacent Olympic Park will also be included in the planning. The special challenge lies in the fact that the square is completely underbuilt by an underground car park, which means that innovative ideas on the part of the population are required with the help of technical and scientific know-how. The project team consists of representatives of IIG, ISD, University of Innsbruck and the City of Innsbruck and is funded for three years as part of the project "Lighthouses for Resilient Cities 2040" of the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund. The project start date was August 1, 2022.

Traffic master plans

In the field of mobility, the city of Innsbruck focuses on the expansion of public, bicycle and pedestrian transport.

  • The Cycling Master Plan 2030 has already been adopted. The goal is to increase the share of bicycle traffic to 20 percent by 2030. Measures include the expansion of a seamless network of bike paths. More info is available at: Bicycle
  • The walking master plan is currently being drawn up. more information is available at: Pedestrians
  • The expansion of public transport is progressing in the form of the regional railroad and the extension of the streetcar network. Encounter zones - not only in the redesign of public squares - are gradually being established. The following streetscape designs are currently on the agenda: Rennweg/Universitätsstraße, Bozner Platz, Messe suburban train stop and Gaismaierstraße.

These measures are intended to make the car superfluous as a means of transportation in the city center.

Climate-smart forest

Spruce monocultures are a thing of the past. In the future, Innsbruck will rely on near-natural, hardwood-rich, deep-rooted trees. With hardwoods such as cherry, walnut, oak, elm or maple, Innsbruck's forests will be rich in structure and climate-smart. in addition, forest foresters focus on forest hygiene to reduce pests such as the bark beetle - for example, by quickly transporting useful and damaged wood out of the forest. These measures limit soil erosion, snow breakage, storm damage and pests.

Climate neutral city magistrate

Currently the City Office Office of the Magistrate - Climate & Environment.. is currently working on a concept for a climate-neutral city council, in which four fields of action are currently defined as focal points (mobility, buildings, procurement, events). An operational mobility management system is currently being developed for the magistrate with the help of external support. At the IIG, measures for climate-neutral building management are being developed.

Move-in support XL

You can find more information about the move-in assistance XL under Citizen Participation.

Collaboration

The climate crisis cannot be managed individually. Cooperation between different disciplines, administrative levels, public and private organizations and all people are the basic prerequisite for successful climate protection and climate crisis management.

e5-Municipality

The e5 - Gemeinde program is a federal and state program for energy-conscious and climate-friendly communities. Innsbruck has been a partner in the e5 program since December 2013 , the project management lies with the Office of Transport Planning, Environment. From spatial planning and architecture to energy solutions and mobility, the program includes proven energy and climate protection measures. The activities are regularly evaluated by an external commission and awarded up to five "e "s - comparable to the "hoods" in gastronomy. With a degree of implementation of 64.4% and thus awarded 4 "e's", Innsbruck is considered a pioneer among the provincial capitals.

e5-Gemeinde-Innsbruck-2014-18

The next evaluation is expected in 2022. It is already apparent that the percentages have improved further. The fourth e thus seems secure for the next evaluation as well.

Cooperations

To cope with climate change in Innsbruck there are cooperations between:

  • the different departments (environment, forestry, transport, housing, ...) of the city council.
  • the municipal holding companies IKB, IVB and IIG.
  • Universities (Innsbruck, Vienna EUnivercities, Ulysseus, etc.)

Europan Innsbruck

Europan is an ideas competition through which innovative strategies for European cities are to be found and implemented. On the platform, young experts in urban, landscape and architectural planning submit their ideas. Also for Innsbruck such an idea competition for the area Innbrücke over market place up to the university bridge was implemented and numerous ideas were awarded.

Smart City

With the Smart City office, resources are conserved, collaboration is strengthened and the quality of life is improved.

Projects of the Innsbrucker Kommunalbetriebe (IKB)

Projects of the Innsbruck Transport Authority (IVB)

Projects of the Innsbrucker Immobiliengesellschaft (IIG)

Last updated 06.12.2022

Klima-Projekte

Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl an Projekten der Stadt Innsbruck gegen den Klimawandel oder dessen Auswirkungen.

Welche Projekte gegen den Klimawandel und für die Anpassung gibt es in Innsbruck?

Innsbrucker Stadtklimaanalyse und Anpassungsstrategien

Energieplan: Energieautonomie 2050

Zu Beginn der strategischen Planungen stand bereits ab 2010 der Innsbrucker Energieplan, der mittlerweile aktualisiert wurde und als Zielszenario die Energieautonomie 2050 anstrebt. 

Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitspreis der Stadt Innsbruck

Die Stadt Innsbruck schreibt alle zwei Jahre einen Umweltpreis aus. Dieses Mal wurde der Preis zum ersten Mal unter dem Namen „Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitspreis der Stadt Innsbruck 2021“ geführt. Der Preis wird für ambitionierte und innovative Projekte und Projektkonzepte auf dem Gebiet des Umweltschutzes und der Nachhaltigkeit vergeben. Er wird 2023 neu ausgeschrieben.

INN’F4UM – Innsbrucks Fit4Urban Mission

Bei INN’F4UM werden Maßnahmen erarbeitet, die Innsbruck bis 2030 klimaneutral machen können. Diese reichen von Bestandssanierungen, weiterer Nutzung versiegelter Flächen zur Energieproduktion etwa mittels Photovoltaik und vermehrter Nutzung von Infrastruktur.

EU – FP 7 Projekt Sinfonia (2014-2020)

Das Sinfonia Projekt „Smart Cities & Communities“ mit über 30 Partnern aus acht Ländern ist bereits abgeschlossen. In der Stadt Innsbruck wurden dabei energiesparende Maßnahmen in Stadtteilen ausprobiert. So sammelte unter anderem die IKB Erfahrungen in den Bereichen moderne Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, Solarthermie, Wärme-Kältespeicher, Wärmepumpen zur Nutzung lokaler Abwärmequellen oder Wärmeversorgung über Fernwärmenetze. Abgewickelt wurde das Projekt von der Standortagentur Tirol

cool-INN & alp-INN: Kühle urbane Lebensräume

Coole Plätze für ein cooles Innsbruck. Zur Abkühlung sogenannter Hitzeinseln gibt es in der Stadt Innsbruck bereits zwei Projekte: cool-Inn & alp-INN. 

cool-INN wurde von der Stadt Innsbruck, der IKB, der Universität Innsbruck und der Uni für Bodenkultur in Wien (BOKU) bereits umgesetzt. Ziel war es, eine verbesserte Aufenthaltsqualität des Platzes und des Parks beim Messe-Gelände in der Ing-Etzel-Straße zu erreichen. Im Dezember 2021 wurden die Bauarbeiten abgeschlossen und der Park im Sommer 2022 durch zahlreiche Veranstaltungen belebt (KlimaSalon). 

Klimafit soll auch der DDr. Alois-Lugger-Platz (alp-INN) im Zentrum des Olympischen Dorfes unter Einbindung der Bevölkerung, den ansässigen Vereinen und Betrieben gestaltet werden. Dabei wird auch der angrenzende Olympiapark in die Planungen miteinbezogen. Die besondere Herausforderung liegt darin, dass der Platz vollständig von einer Tiefgarage unterbaut wird, wodurch innovative Ideen seitens der Bevölkerung mit Hilfe von technischem und wissenschaftlichem Know-how gefragt sind. Das Projektteam besteht aus VertreterInnen der IIG, der ISD, Universität Innsbruck und der Stadt Innsbruck und wird für drei Jahre im Rahmen des Projektes „Leuchttürme für resiliente Städte 2040“ des österreichischen Klima- und Energiefonds gefördert. Projektstart war der 1. August 2022.

Verkehrsmasterpläne 

Im Bereich Mobilität setzt die Stadt Innsbruck auf den Ausbau von Öffentlichem, Rad- und Fußverkehr.

  • Der Masterplan Radverkehr 2030 wurde bereits beschlossen. Ziel ist es, den Anteil des Radverkehrs bis 2030 auf 20 Prozent zu steigern. Maßnahmen sind unter anderem der Ausbau eines lückenlosen Radwegenetzes. Mehr Infos gibt es unter: Fahrrad
  • Der Masterplan Gehen wird aktuell ausgearbeitet.  Mehr Infos gibt es unter: FußgängerInnen
  • Der Ausbau des öffentlichen Verkehrs schreitet in Form der Regionalbahn und dem Ausbau des Straßenbahnnetzes voran. Begegnungszonen - nicht nur bei Neugestaltung von öffentlichen Plätzen - werden sukzessive errichtet. Aktuell stehen folgende Straßenraumgestaltungen auf dem Programm: Rennweg/Universitätsstraße, Bozner Platz, S-Bahn-Haltestelle Messe und Gaismaierstraße.

Diese Maßnahmen sollen das Auto als Fortbewegungsmittel in der Innenstadt überflüssig machen.

Klimafitter Wald

Fichtenmonokulturen gehören der Vergangenheit an. In Zukunft setzt Innsbruck auf naturnahe, laubholzreich, tiefwurzelnde Bäume. Mit Laubholz wie Kirsche, Nuss, Eiche, Ulme oder Ahorn werden Innsbrucks Wälder strukturreich und klimafit.  Zusätzlich setzen die WaldförsterInnen auf Waldhygiene, um Schädlingen wie den Borkenkäfer zu verringern - beispielsweise indem Nutz- und Schadholz schnell aus dem Wald befördert wird. Mit diesen Maßnahmen werden Bodenerosion, Schneebruch, Sturmschäden und Schädlinge begrenzt.

Klimaneutraler Stadtmagistrat

Aktuell erarbeitet die Geschäftsstelle Büro der Magistratsdirektorin - Klima & Umwelt ein Konzept für einen klimaneutralen Stadtmagistrat, in welchem derzeit vier Handlungsfelder als Schwerpunkte definiert sind (Mobilität, Gebäude, Beschaffung, Events). Für den  Magistrat wird momentan ein betriebliches Mobilitätsmanagement mithilfe externer Unterstützung erstellt. Bei der IIG werden Maßnahmen zum klimaneutralen Gebäudemanagement erarbeitet.

Einzugsbegleitung XL

Mehr Infos zur Einzugsbegleitung XL finden Sie unter Bürgerbeteiligung.

Zusammenarbeit

Die Klima-Krise kann man nicht individuell bewältigen. Zusammenarbeit zwischen verschiedenen Disziplinen, Verwaltungsebenen, öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen und allen Menschen sind die Grundvoraussetzung für erfolgreichen Klimaschutz und Klima-Krisenmanagement.

e5-Gemeinde

Das e5 - Gemeinde-Programm ist ein Bundes- und Landesprogramm für energiebewusste und klimafreundliche Gemeinden. Innsbruck ist seit Dezember 2013 Partner im e5 Programm, die Projektleitung liegt beim Amt Verkehrsplanung, Umwelt. Von Raumplanung und Architektur über Energielösungen bis zur Mobilität beinhaltet das Programm erprobte Energie- und Klimaschutzmaßnahmen. Die Aktivitäten werden regelmäßig durch eine externe Kommission bewertet und – vergleichbar mit den „Hauben“ in der Gastronomie – mit bis zu fünf „e“ ausgezeichnet. Mit einem Umsetzungsgrad von 64,4% und damit mit 4 „e´s“ ausgezeichnet, gilt Innsbruck als Pionier unter den Landeshauptstädten.

e5-Gemeinde-Innsbruck-2014-18

Die nächste Evaluierung wird für 2022 erwartet. Bereits jetzt zeichnet sich ab, dass sich die Prozentwerte weiter verbessert haben. Das vierte e scheint damit auch für die nächste Bewertung sicher.

Kooperationen

Zur Bewältigung des Klimawandels in Innsbruck gibt es Kooperationen zwischen:

  • den verschiedenen Ämtern (Umwelt, Forst, Verkehr, Wohnen, …) des Magistrats.
  • den städtischen Beteiligungsgesellschaften IKB, IVB und IIG.
  • Universitäten (Innsbruck, Wien EUnivercities, Ulysseus, etc.)

Europan Innsbruck

Europan ist ein Ideenwettbewerb durch den innovative Strategien für europäische Städte gefunden und umgesetzt werden sollen. Auf der Plattform reichen junge Fachleute der Stadt-, Landschafts- und Architekturplanung ihre Ideen ein. Auch für Innsbruck wurde ein solcher Ideenwettbewerb für den Bereich Innbrücke über Marktplatz bis hin zur Universitätsbrücke umgesetzt und zahlreiche Ideen prämiert. 

Smart City

Mit der Geschäftsstelle Smart-City werden die Ressourcen geschont, die Zusammenarbeit gestärkt und die Lebensqualität verbessert.

Projekte der Innsbrucker Kommunalbetriebe (IKB)

Projekte der Innsbrucker Verkehrsbetriebe (IVB)

Projekte der Innsbrucker Immobiliengesellschaft (IIG)

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 09.11.2022