Arthur Haidl Prize

The Arthur Haidl Award honors projects in the fields of culture, youth, preservation of tradition, education and the humanities.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Endowment: 10,000 euros

The prize has been awarded every 2 years since 2015.

What is supported?

The Arthur Haidl Award promotes projects and initiatives in the fields of culture, youth, preservation of tradition, education and humanities. The contribution made to the welfare and reputation of the city of Innsbruck is the main focus of the Arthur Haidl Award.

Who awards the prize?

Reg.-Rat Arthur Haidl (✝ 1979) was Innsbruck's vice mayor and regional youth officer. In memory of him, his daughter Dr. Roswitha Stiegner has donated this prize since 2004.

How do I apply?

You can submit your documents via the platform

Who can apply?

Individuals as well as so-called "legal entities" (e.g. associations, initiatives with a far-reaching sphere of influence, etc.) can apply for the "Arthur Haidl Prize of the City of Innsbruck".

The following requirements apply to the submitters:


  • 33. Not yet reached the age of 18 at the time of the closing date for submissions
  • EU citizen
  • Residence
    • have been living in the municipality of Innsbruck for at least 5 years without interruption, or
    • for at least 10 years in the territory of Tyrol (North, South and East Tyrol)

Legal entities:

  • Submissions from the 3rd year of existence (proof by extract from the register of associations)
  • Submission by third parties is possible.

Submissions are made exclusively digitally via the "Portal for Art and Culture Competitions

Which documents are required?

The following documents are required in PDF format for submission on

  • Proof of citizenship of an EU member state (e.g. passport copy, proof of citizenship)
  • Current proof of main residence (confirmation of registration) in Innsbruck or in Tyrol (North, South and East Tyrol)
  • for associations: Proof of the duration of existence by means of an extract from the register of associations
  • Documentation of projects and work carried out so far (e.g. in the form of publications, exhibits, works, press articles, etc.)
  • Letter of motivation as to why the applicant is applying for the award
  • Half a page project description

Who decides on the award?

The awarding of the prize is pre-considered by a jury consisting of the Director of the City Council, the Head of the Department of Culture and the Rector of the Leopold Franzens University. The Mayor of the City of Innsbruck decides on the final award. He also has the right to suspend the award without giving reasons, if necessary for one year. The Arthur Haidl Award is presented at a ceremony.

Previous award winners

Der Arthur-Haidl-Preis 2021 geht an: die Vereine "UND-Heft" und "Girls on Fire".

The representatives of the "Verein UND-Heft" and "Girls on Ice Austria" accepted the Arthur Haidl Award 2021 from the amtsf. city councilor Uschi Schwarzl and Natalie Pedevilla (representation of the cultural office management). (For the photo, the FFP2 masks were briefly removed, editor's note)© IKM / MD

YearAward winners

Association UND Booklet

Girls on Ice Austria

2019Women from all countries

bilding - art and architecture school for children and young people

Association Z6 - center for young people

2015Association "kNH" / research group "DyME"
2014Anniversary brochure: "10 years Arthur Haidl Award of the City of Innsbruck"
2013Laila Alina Reischer / Academy St. Blasius
2012The bakery culture bakery / Free Beat Company
2011Language Island Association
2010Tyrolean Chamber Orchestra "InnStrumenti
2009"Young UNI Innsbruck
2008Association Jugendland
2007Stefan Alois Schwarzenberger
2006Florian Hackspiel
2005Roland Maurmair
2004Thomas Schafferer

Last updated 20.03.2023