Digital assets

Materials of the archive directly accessible online - plans, city chronicles and more.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

In order to make the holdings of the city archive more accessible, parts of them are being digitized step by step and put online. Due to the abundance of material, this will remain limited to a small proportion of the total holdings for the time being, but the pieces that experience has shown to be most frequently needed will naturally have priority.

What documents are available online?

Here you will find numerous historical city maps of Innsbruck, back to 1838, as well as a chronicle of the city from the 19th century and articles by former archive director Franz-Heinz Hye about Innsbruck's districts. Another project makes the city's address books since 1897 accessible online, with the option of searching the entire text of the digitized books by name, house or business.

City maps and guides

City maps dating back to the early 19th century can be used to vividly trace the development of the city. They are also an interesting source for economic and tourism history - which hotels are the top addresses? What is a must-see? Today, one usually no longer needs a printed city map. But as sources for historical research, whether professional or not, they remain important.

Carl Unterkirchner Chronicle

Carl Unterkirchner was a scriptor of the Innsbruck University Library who compiled this chronicle of over 400 pages in 1892-1896. It is based on various printed works available to Unterkirchner and on the "Pusch-Chronik", a handwritten chronicle kept in the city archives and in the library of the Landesmuseum. The Unterkirchner Chronicle is not cited by page numbers, but by the numbers in the right margin.

The districts of Innsbruck

Not everything that is Innsbruck today has always been Innsbruck. St. Nikolaus-Mariahilf, Pradl and Wilten only grew together with Innsbruck over the years. With the Anschluss in 1938 there was a surge of incorporations: Hötting, Mühlau, Amras, Arzl, Vill and Igls were added. After the Second World War, the city spread further to Reichenau, the Olympic Village, Höttinger Au, Hötting West and Kranebitten.

Here you can find the articles of the former head of the city archives Franz-Heinz Hye, who has scientifically worked up the history of the city districts.

Contact

Last updated 27.11.2022