Nick Mueller Scholarship

The City of Innsbruck supports research projects of Tyrolean students at the University of New Orleans.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Endowment: 10,000

What is funded?

Innsbruck and Tyrolean students are enabled to conduct research projects at the University of New Orleans.

Who awards the scholarship?

The Nick Mueller Scholarship is funded equally by the City of Innsbruck and the Province of Tyrol. It will be presented at the opening ceremony of the International Summer School of the University of New Orleans in the presence of Prof. Mueller.

Who decides on the award?

The scholarship holder is proposed by:

  • the University Representative for International Relations and
  • the Rector's Representative for the Partnership with the UNO

After consultation with the Director of the Austria Center of the UN, the scholarship holder will be proposed to the City of Innsbruck and the Province of Tyrol.

Who is Prof. Gordon "Nick" Müller?

Long before New Orleans officially became Innsbruck's twin city in 1995, there was already close cooperation between the cities.

Since 1976, the International Summer School has been held in Innsbruck every year, with more than 8,000 students from the U.S. participating to date. Prof. Mueller is the founder of this successful program between the University of Innsbruck and the University of New Orleans (UNO). At that time, he moved the six-week Summer School of the University of New Orleans from Munich to Innsbruck and thus laid an important foundation for further cultural exchange between the twin cities.

The Nick Mueller Scholarship was established by the city and state in 2003 in recognition of the achievements of Prof. Gordon "Nick" Mueller.

Previous scholarship holders

YearScholarship holder
2021Christian Stenico
2020not awarded
2019Andreas Hofbauer
2018Irina Pavlovic
2017Bernhard Alexander Achhorner
2016Theresa Peischer
2015Hester Alexandra Margreiter
2014Svenja Grabner
2013Martina Prugger
2012Theresa Mairhofer
2011Christian Scheiner
2010Michael Fink
2009Manfred Kohler
2008Marion Wieser
2007Meinhard Legerer
2006Hermann Eberharter
2005Stefan Fiedrich
2004Susanne Mettauer
2003Florian Wimmer