Hilde Zach Composition Scholarships

The city of Innsbruck annually supports the composition of contemporary musical works by Innsbruck composers.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Endowment: 7.000 & 3.000 Euro

  • Composition grant: 7.000 Euro
  • Composition scholarship: 3.000 Euro

The total funding amount of 10,000 euros is divided into a large scholarship and a sponsorship scholarship. This division ensures that both works of greater formal coherence by experienced composers and compositions by young talents are supported.

What is supported?

To promote contemporary music, the City of Innsbruck supports the composition of contemporary musical works by Innsbruck composers. The aim is to provide lasting and sustainable support for the development of contemporary music in Innsbruck. in 2013, the composition scholarships were renamed Hilde Zach Composition Scholarships in recognition and memory of Innsbruck's former mayor.

Who awards the scholarship?

City of Innsbruck

How do I apply?

You can submit your documents via the platform: kultur-innsbruck.vemap.com. The current submission deadline runs from Friday, January 13, 2023, starting at 8:00 a.m. until Tuesday, May 2, 2023, 5:00 p.m.

Who can apply?

Artists who were

  • were born in Tyrol or
  • reside in Innsbruck or
  • are permanently and creatively active as artists in Innsbruck and
  • are of age (at least 18 years old).

The following also applies to the scholarship:

  • The 35th year of age must not be exceeded.

Persons who, by virtue of their professional activity, have a close relationship with the institution appointed to the jury in the given year are not eligible for submission.

What can be submitted?


Which documents are required?

The following documents in German and in pdf format are required for submission to kultur-innsbruck.vemap.com:

  • Scan of birth certificate or current registration slip from the year of submission (if not born in Tyrol)
  • current portfolio of works with the following content:
    • Short curriculum vitae of the applicant (max. 1/2 page)
    • Short description of the compositional work
    • 2 to max. 3 sound recordings (optional)
  • Data sheet: name, postal address, e-mail address, telephone number, privacy policy.

Who decides on the award?

The selection of the two funded composition commissions is made by an independent jury of experts, each invited by the Cultural Office of the Provincial Capital of Innsbruck. The jury for the main scholarship and the sponsorship scholarship consists of three persons each, who come from the fields of composition, musicology or a local music institution or institution.

The composition of the jury changes annually, although one jury member may remain on the jury for a maximum of one additional year. The composition of the jury is as follows:

In the case of the main scholarship and the sponsorship scholarship, one jury member each will be appointed from the domestic music institution or institution that would in principle be prepared, if awarded the scholarship, to determine the type, scope and instrumentation of the composition together with the scholarship holder, to commission a composition and to premiere the work.

Jury 2023

Main grant: Klangspuren

Scholarship: Tyrolean Chamber Orchestra InnStrumenti

Previous scholarship holders

Hilde Zach Composition Scholarships 2021

Congratulations on the Hilde Zach Composition Scholarships 2021: from left to right Elias Praxmarer (main scholarship), Head of the Cultural Office Dr.in Isabelle Brandauer, Egid Jöchl (sponsorship scholarship), City Councilor Mag. Uschi Schwarzl© Stadt Innsbruck / D. Jäger

YearComposition ScholarshipGrant scholarship
2022not awardednot awarded
2021Elias PraxmarerEgid Jöchl
2020Wolfgang MittererJosef Schiechtl
2019Thomas AmannAntonia Manhartsberger
2018Elisabeth SchimanaManuel Zwerger
2017Bernhard GanderAndreas Trenkwalder
2016Michael F. P. HuberJosef Haller
2015Christof DienzJulia Maier
2014Daniel Oliver MoserManuel Delago
2013Wolfgang MittererHannes Kerschbaumer
2012Johannes SiglKatharina Blassnigg
2011Gunter SchneiderMarco Döttlinger

Until 2010, the funding pot was divided into two equal scholarships:

YearComposition grant 1Composition grant 2
2010Ralph SchuttiChristian Reimeir
2009Franz BaurFranz Schreyer
2008Manuela KererNorbert Zehm
2007Thomas AmannJudith Unterpertinger

Last updated 03.10.2023