How does climate change affect Innsbruck?

What challenges lie ahead for Innsbruck in particular if the climate continues to warm.

This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

Climate change is happening. And it's happening at an accelerating pace - faster than the original projections calculated.

By 2020, average global warming was 1°C. In Austria, the average temperature has risen by around 2°C since 1880. These measurements show that the Alpine region and thus also the Tyrolean capital will have to reckon with about twice the warming than the global average.

The warming trend - on this scale and at this speed - is clearly noticeable for all residents of the city of Innsbruck. This was particularly evident in the summer of 2022: The number of heat days and the intensity of heat periods increases noticeably and a seasonal shift in the occurrence of 1st heat days is clearly visible.

Urban Climate Analysis

in 2020, an inventory of Innsbruck's climate and an overview-based urban climate modeling with a focus on heat stress was carried out in cooperation with the
Central Institute for Meteorology and Geodynamics (ZAMG) was prepared.

As a result, the urban climate analysis was created. It is an area-wide, systematic analysis of Innsbruck's urban climate, was prepared according to the VDI (Association of German Engineers) and supplemented by a summer measurement campaign.

Heat as a challenge

Climate change has many facets, but heat poses major challenges, especially for cities, due to dense development, sealed surfaces, and often low air exchange that brings cooling. The urban climate analysis is used, for example, to locate fresh air and cold air pathways so that they can be protected in a more targeted manner. In addition, the analysis shows which areas of the city are particularly overheated and which local adaptation measures (greening, unsealing, etc.) are necessary.

The modeling shows an increase in the frequency of summer and heat days: with 25 heat days, Innsbruck has twice as many heat days as Salzburg (12) and 10-20% more than Klagenfurt (max. 21). The temperature differences between the densely populated inner-city area and the urban periphery can be as much as 6°C.

In addition to heat, drought, heavy rainfall events and extreme wind phenomena are also increasingly affecting cities.

Maps of the urban climate analysis

The urban climate analysis includes - in addition to a comprehensive results report including recommendations - the following maps:

  • Theme maps (building volume, cold air and ventilation) provide the basis for the climate analysis map and the planning advice map.
  • The climate analysis map contains a synopsis of the climate phenomena relevant in the urban area and their spatial distribution. In order to do justice to the extreme topography of Innsbruck, the climatope "Reizklima" was developed. This high mountain climate is characterized by short summers and long and cold winters. Its importance lies in the interaction with the valley areas via the cold air conduction paths during warm summer nights. The Sill gorge and the course of the Sill through the city also represent a special structure; they form a fresh air corridor that reaches far into the city. These are just a few of the special features of the climate analysis map now available.
  • The planning information map evaluates the partly complex urban climatic functions. Thus, the climatic sensitivity of different areas can be determined and their value can be spatially assigned. The resulting recommendations and hints aim at improving the climatic conditions, coordinating future urban developments and mitigating the effects of the predicted climate change as far as possible.
    The planning notes map was divided into six categories: two categories are compensation areas, which are areas worthy of protection due to the cold air. Four categories concern partially or completely built-up settlement areas, which are designated with more or less thermal load. For all categories, there are specific recommendations with a mix of proposed measures.
  • Scenario maps: these maps show the impacts of future urban development and climate change.

Cold air pathways and protection of vulnerable groups

The results of the urban climate analysis emphasize the importance of (cold) air pathways for nighttime cooling. Even though the number of heat days is increasing, the city of Innsbruck does not (yet) record a significant increase in tropical nights. Nights when the minimum temperature does not drop below 20°C are considered to be particularly stressful for the human organism.

Vulnerable groups such as elderly and impaired persons or small children are particularly affected. It is important to protect these groups and to implement measures such as building structures at an early stage, but also to expand public relations and early warning systems.

The urban climate analysis was conducted by the City Department Urban planning, urban development and integration and by the Lade Text City Office Office of the Magistrate - Climate & Environment.. and prepared by Weatherpark GmbH in cooperation with the Institute for Climate and Energy Concepts (INKEK GmbH).

Last updated 02.12.2022

Wie betrifft der Klimawandel Innsbruck?

Welche Herausforderungen speziell Innsbruck bevorstehen, wenn sich das Klima weiterhin erwärmt.

Der Klimawandel findet statt. Und das in immer schnelleren Schritten - schneller als die ursprünglichen Prognosen errechnet haben.

Bis 2020 lag die durchschnittliche globale Erwärmung bei 1°C. In Österreich ist die Durchschnittstemperatur seit 1880 um rund 2°C gestiegen. Diese Messungen zeigen, dass der Alpenraum und somit auch die Tiroler Landeshauptstadt mit rund der doppelten Erwärmung als im globalen Mittel rechnen muss. 

Der Trend zur Erwärmung – in diesem Ausmaß und dieser Geschwindigkeit – ist deutlich spürbar für alle BewohnerInnen der Stadt Innsbruck. Dies hat sich besonders im Sommer 2022 gezeigt: Die Anzahl der Hitzetage und die Intensität von Hitzeperioden nimmt merklich zu und eine saisonale Verschiebung des Auftretens der 1. Hitzetage ist deutlich erkennbar.

Stadtklimaanalyse

2020 wurde eine Bestandserhebung des Innsbrucker Klimas und eine überblicksmäßige Stadtklimamodellierung mit dem Fokus auf Hitzebelastung in Zusammenarbeit mit der
Zentralanstalt für Meteorologie und Geodynamik (ZAMG) erstellt.

Daraufhin wurde die Stadtklimaanalyse erstellt. Sie ist eine flächendeckende, systematische Analyse des Innsbrucker Stadtklimas, wurde nach der VDI (Verein deutscher Ingenieure) erstellt und durch eine sommerliche Messkampagne ergänzt.

Hitze als Herausforderung

Der Klimawandel hat viele Facetten, aber Hitze stellt vor allem Städte durch die verdichtete Bebauung, den versiegelten Flächen und dem oft geringen Luftaustausch, der Kühlung bringt, vor großen Herausforderungen. Anhand der Stadtklimaanalyse werden beispielsweise Frischluft- und Kaltluftbahnen verortet, um sie so gezielter schützen zu können. Außerdem zeigt die Analyse auf, welche Bereiche der Stadt besonders stark überwärmt sind und welche lokalen Anpassungsmaßnahmen (Begrünung, Entsiegelung, etc.) notwendig sind.

Die Modellierung zeigt eine Zunahme der Häufigkeit von Sommer- und Hitzetagen: Innsbruck weist mit 25 Hitzetagen doppelt so viele Hitzetage wie Salzburg (12) und um 10-20% mehr als Klagenfurt (max. 21) auf. Dabei können die Temperaturunterschiede vom innerstädtischen, dicht besiedelten Bereich zum städtischen Randbereich bis zu 6°C betragen.

Neben Hitze setzen aber auch Trockenheit, Starkregenereignisse und extreme Windphänomene Städten zusehends zu.

Karten der Stadtklimaanalyse

Die Stadtklimaanalyse umfasst – neben einem umfangreichen Ergebnisbericht samt Empfehlungen – folgende Karten:

  • Themenkarten (Gebäudevolumen, Kaltluft- und Durchlüftung) liefern die Grundlage für die Klimaanalysekarte und die Planungshinweiskarte.
  • Die Klimaanalysekarte enthält eine Zusammenschau der im Stadtgebiet relevanten Klimaphänomene und deren räumliche Verteilung. Um der extremen Topographie  Innsbrucks gerecht zu werden, wurde das Klimatop „Reizklima“ entwickelt. Dieses Hochgebirgsklima ist charakterisiert durch kurze Sommer sowie lange und kalte Winter. Die Bedeutung liegt in der Wechselwirkung mit den Tallagen über die Kaltluftleitbahnen in warmen Sommernächten. Eine besondere Struktur stellt auch die Sillschlucht und der Sillverlauf durch die Stadt dar; sie bilden einen Frischluftkorridor, der weit in die Stadt reicht. Dies sind nur einige Besonderheiten der nun vorliegenden Klimaanalysekarte.
  • Die Planungshinweiskarte bewertet die teilweise komplexen stadtklimatischen Funktionen. Somit kann die klimatische Sensibilität unterschiedlicher Areale bestimmt und deren Wertigkeit räumlich zugeordnet werden. Die daraus resultierenden Empfehlungen und Hinweise zielen darauf ab, die klimatischen Verhältnisse zu verbessern, die zukünftigen urbanen Entwicklungen zu koordinieren und die Auswirkungen des prognostizierten Klimawandels möglichst abzumildern.
    Die Planungshinweiskarte wurde in sechs Kategorien unterteilt: zwei Kategorien sind Ausgleichsräume, die aufgrund der Kaltluft schützenswerte Gebiete darstellen. Vier Kategorien betreffen teilweise oder komplett bebaute Siedlungsflächen, die mit mehr oder weniger thermischer Belastung ausgewiesen sind. Für alle Kategorien gibt es konkrete Empfehlungen mit einem Mix aus Maßnahmenvorschlägen.
  • Szenarienkarten: Diese Karten zeigen die Auswirkungen zukünftiger Stadtentwicklung und des Klimawandels.

Kaltluftbahnen und Schutz vulnerabler Gruppen

Die Ergebnisse der Stadtklimaanalyse unterstreichen die Bedeutung von (Kalt-)luftbahnen für die nächtliche Abkühlung. Auch wenn die Anzahl der Hitzetage zunimmt, verzeichnet die Stadt Innsbruck (noch) keinen signifikanten Anstieg an Tropennächten. Nächte, bei denen die Minimumtemperatur nicht unter 20°C sinkt, gelten als besonders belastend für den menschlichen Organismus. 

Vulnerable Gruppen wie ältere und beeinträchtigte Personen oder Kleinkinder sind davon besonders betroffen. Diese gilt es zu schützen und frühzeitig Maßnahmen wie bauliche Strukturen zu setzen, aber auch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Frühwarnsysteme auszubauen.

Die Stadtklimaanalyse wurde vom Amt Stadtplanung, Stadtentwicklung und Integration und von der Geschäftsstelle Büro der Magistratsdirektorin - Klima & Umwelt beauftragt und von der Fa. Weatherpark GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Klima- und Energiekonzepte (INKEK GmbH) erstellt.

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 25.10.2022